Painful Relief

Absence makes the heart fonder just as pain turns the absence of pain into pleasure. Joy for many people is not about pleasure but instead the glimpses of relief from the pain in their life. I’m glad it’s over becomes the daily mantra for life which extends to the dying breath.

Pleasure can become muted out by the pain that spills over when you momentarily punch out. Reaching heaven is difficult when the gravity of pain is always pulling you back down to hell.

The great escape is only great while it’s an escape. When the pain is absent long enough to fade into the past, it’s common to voluntarily revisit it because any stimulation seems that it would be better than none. There’s more people living on the inside than out.

A relatively pain-free life can lack stimulation. When you’re floating on calm waters you can choose to dive down back to darkness or wait until the forces push you down. The other choice is to try and climb a wave.

The upward movement in mood is what we’re all seeking. When you’re drowning beneath the surface all that you wish for is to float. When you’re flatlining long enough you need a wave to bring you up.

4 comments on “Painful Relief

  1. Maybe this is why sometimes we pick fights or get into trouble. Gotta have that pain, so when it’s over and we’ve recovered from the damage, we’re relieved. Melodrama is not stimulation, and relief is not pleasure, but we fool ourselves into thinking it is.

    One time years ago I got really, really sick. I remember lying in bed for days thinking, ‘I just want my shitty life back!’ When I got better, it didn’t take long for that gratitude and euphoria to fade away.

    Guess many of us squander these absence-of-pain periods in our lives, ya think?

    Good post J.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Sometimes anything seems better than boredom, right? Relief might not be pleasure but at times it can feel like heaven.

      I guess humans aren’t wired to be content for very long. It goes against evolution. They say practicing gratitude is good for the soul but it doesn’t come easy. I’ll have to remind myself to do so. It’s just so automatic to concentrate on the bad. It be a shame to go through life squandering those absence-of-pain periods in exchange for misery.

      Like

  2. I figure you’re talking about mental/emotional pain. People get in habits of thinking a certain way, like the habit of worrying, which does no good and may actually create the problem you fear. When you watch your thoughts, you can find ways you may indulge painful thoughts and fantasies. I’ve noticed that in myself. The “Poor Me Blues” is a common theme.

    Liked by 1 person

    • MrJohnson says:

      I agree, people create much of the mental pain that they have. “I can’t help it,” is often the reason for doing so. Sometimes though it’s very difficult to pinpoint the source of mental pain. I too indulge in painful thoughts. I sometimes just switch it off but other times I’m bored so I just punish myself. I want to get into the habit of only thinking good thoughts and stopping myself from indulging in bad ones. Apparently if you do it enough it can rewire your brain for the better.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

