Non-active Gym Membership

When doing the math, $4.99 plus tax every 2 weeks on a 1 year commitment could only be so bad. I suspect this gym had the same idea. A week after I signed up for the gym membership I crashed my car which resulted in a total loss. I walked to the gym a few times after but eventually gave it up. Now I’m the best type of customer that they have…one who pays but never goes. The bad customers take up space, stink up the place and contribute to wear and tear of the equipment. They should throw customer appreciation parties for customers like me.

It’s a classic case of human behaviour. Optimism is at its highest when an idea is just an idea. People often rationalize the high likelihood that they will commit. Everything works in theory. Once the idea requires physical effort it no longer seems like such a good idea. Now you rationalize ways on how it’s okay to stop going and how the money that will be wasted isn’t that much. You tell yourself that walking your dog is plenty of exercise and the money wasted is only half of what you received for Christmas. I’d like to see the stats of active memberships versus non-active. I’m sure it’s part of the business plan.

There’s a reason why businesses make you sign contracts. They know that people are losers and will often fall into the trap of convenience and laziness. When video stores were around they thrived on late fees. People would often put off returning videos until the last day and when that day came they forgot or their house burned down. With enough life experience you start to say “no” to every enticing offer not because it’s not a good deal but because you know your loser tendencies. Accepting offers are often a bet with yourself.

In the past I have made good use of my gym memberships but it just didn’t happen this time. It’s just been too inconvenient without a vehicle(excuse). I do mini-workouts by randomly dropping and giving myself 20 or doing pull-ups on the monkey bars when there’s no children around. I still have half a year to redeem myself with my gym membership so we’ll see what happens(rationalizing hope).

 

5 comments on “Non-active Gym Membership

  1. A contract for a gym really is a scam, I’ll bet New Year’s Resolutions Month must be big bucks for them. Why not pay as you go, what’s the big deal?

    Years ago back in CT, I lived near a women’s fitness center, a chain called Gloria Stevens. I just looked them up online and it’s unclear whether they’re still in business, and from a brief glance it looks like people make fun of them. But they were AWESOME. Hardcore aerobics classes every hour, on time. I could drive a few miles a couple times a week, pay at the door, and participate in a high-energy workout to ’80s rock music. I loved it. There’s nothing like that where I live within 100 miles, if any. Maybe Tucson, and I bet you’d have trouble finding anything like that even there.

    People are always making fun of anything ’80s. But you know what? We weren’t so fat then were we.

    Liked by 2 people

    • MrJohnson says:

      Gloria sounds like a name that was popular in 80s movies. Maybe in the 80s drop-in rates weren’t so bad but that was like 60 years ago. I used to drop-in at the community centres which costed $6 but it was okay because I only went once a week. Ya, February the people start dropping off. One month is how long it usually takes people to give up on anything. I think a lot of medications start working after a month too.

      So I’m picturing spandex, Jane Fonda videos and Van Halen. Maybe Kenny Loggins?

      Like

  2. Mr.Johnsons' Overweight cousin says:

    I have missed about a month on my contract up till now, and it may continue, and I will most likely miss another month later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

