Exploring Opportunities

For the past few weeks I’ve been meeting up with this guy at a coffee shop to chat about a potential opportunity. The first time we met he was reading a book and I asked him what he was studying. I thought he was a student. We chatted a bit and then he asked me if I was interested in the idea of a “mentorship.” I can’t say I really was because I didn’t know what exactly what it meant and he wouldn’t elaborate. For all I knew it could have meant taking me to a dark forest with a blindfold and seeing if I could find my way out.

When I quit my last job I decided that I had to be open to opportunities especially if they were unconventional because conventional hasn’t been working out. The last 4 Saturdays I’ve met up with this guy feeling each other out to see if we’re on the same page. This guy is 23 years old but more intelligent and interesting than anybody I know in my age group. We seemed to like each other and by the 4th meeting he invited me to attend a meeting.

At the meeting with 30 other people I spotted these bottles of water that a friend tried to sell me on years ago. Ah, Amway. The presentation was great. The guy speaking had great things to say about money and life in an honest and comedic way. There’s a lot of negativity associated with Amway and similar businesses but I kept an open mind about it. Really, every business is like a multi-level marketing business. In any business someone at the top is making more money than the person “under” them and that person is necessary in order for the person above them to make that money. Everyone’s getting paid to help someone above their position to make a higher income.

Amway obviously works. It’s been around since 1959 so something is working. The end goal is to achieve sufficient passive income which will allow you to not have to work a job. The ones who succeed in this game say their goal in life is to spread the word so that they can help liberate others from the rat race. Not surprisingly it becomes very religious because you have to attend many meetings over the years in a room full of other devotees. Succeeding in this game would be the equivalent of meeting Jesus.

One of my concerns in the beginning was if I had to fork out any money. My guy told me I wouldn’t but at the meeting they were pushing this bigger meeting out of town that would cost $200 a ticket. There’s 4 of these annually that you’re basically required to attend. Are The Rolling Stones going to be there?

Apparently he’s going to be retired by 25 so I congratulated him. His “mentor” retired at 31 a few years ago. Amway’s definition of retirement means having passive income, not having to work a job, not having debt but still growing your Amway business. Today was the last meeting with the guy. We decided it wasn’t going to work out meaning I told him I wasn’t motivated to do it. It was all very cordial. I was pretty certain I wasn’t going to be interested but I wanted to see it through. I don’t feel that it was a waste of time. It was mostly enjoyable and plus I have a lot of time.

 

11 comments on “Exploring Opportunities

  1. C P says:

    Ah, Amway. I probably live about 70 miles from it’s factories in Grand Rapids, MI.
    And I tried it too, years ago – about 20 years ago if my aging memory is correct.
    What I remember is not those in it being congenial. Instead, they were aggressive and tricky in their presentations of the concept.
    Their favorite way to motivate me was making me feel like a bad person if I did not join them.
    The years have passed, and its nice to know Amway is no longer attacking a prospects self-worth so as to get people in.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      They’ve probably changed their tactics over the years. I don’t think they’re aiming for quantity of people as much as they are “quality,” meaning they want people who seem eager for the long term. Making people feel bad for not joining is a common ploy with MLMs. “You don’t want to join? You mean you don’t want to be rich?”

      Like

  2. Mr. J,
    That he wouldn’t answer your questions directly was a red flag, and you handled it well. Intelligent, charismatic people are not necessarily honest, as you’ve probably learned. I hope better “opportunities” arrive soon. Have you tried selling this blog post to your local newspaper?

    Liked by 1 person

    • MrJohnson says:

      A stranger offering an “opportunity” was already a red flag but I was curious. This guy I met had a lot of mentoring to obtain the mindset that he has. I’m not sure if I can label him as dishonest or not. I guess he would label it as being strategic.

      I can definitely say I had not at all thought about selling this post or any post to anyone. But you have me thinking. Perhaps if I’m persistent enough I can get published. Or have my own column! If nothing else it would be an interesting experience. In my old neighbourhood where it was more interesting I thought about creating a community newsletter. My plan was to sneak it inside newspaper stands that had free newspapers. I regret not doing it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You haven’t thought about selling what your write? Your Amway post is interesting and educational. How many people have been approached with suspicious “opportunities?” Other of your blogs might appeal to newspapers, too. The one on snoring, for instance.

        Liked by 1 person

        • MrJohnson says:

          I’ve thought about selling my left kidney more often than selling my writing. I think I still have more to say on my Amway experience. The local newspapers might not be looking for content regarding murdering people who snore. I’m going to be thinking about this idea though. Thank you for the encouragement.

          Like

  3. Lol it would have to be Slash.

    J and I also had an Amway experience a long time ago, before we even had a computer so we really knew nothing about them. A very nice man actually came to our apartment after meeting J. He spoke with us for an hour or so and explained it. He was polite and pleasant, but we realized very quickly we could never be recruiting/selling type of people. We said no thanks, he was cordial about it, and it was over.

    It was experiential that you did this. Learning never is a waste of time.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I don’t think I ever paid even $100 to see Slash. $200 to see some no name cult leaders with 10,000 other people.

      It’s hard to say no to someone who offers you what seems to be a good possibility. I guess if it was such a great gig then they wouldn’t need people to recruit(I think Amway hates that term now).

      It’s not my first time having someone try to recruit me into something similar. Pretty much everyone I know has been approached as well. This time though the pitch seemed a bit different so I was curious. He got me thinking for some reason it was going to be some kind of internet marketing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

