My First Job

To say that I was pleased when a big-chain retail store hired me as a clerk when I was 17 years old is an under-statement. At that point I had never had a job and was desperately wanting one to escape the stigma of being a fresh high school graduate doing nothing.

They say there’s no jobs today but in 1997 I found it to be much more difficult to attain any kind of employment. I had to lie on my resume to get anywhere and I’ve been doing it ever since. Sometimes having to lie to get a job means the job isn’t for you and your punishment is to hate your job.

When I got the confirmation from Human Resources, I was jumping up and down like I had just won Wimbledon. The starting pay was 15 cents above minimum wage just so they didn’t have to say they offered minimum wage. Working for $7.30 an hour seems like a waste of time or maybe even slavery but happiness is entirely relative to how shitty your life usually is.

Very quickly I began to hate management, customers and self-entitled senior staff. I found it hard to quit because it was a 20 minute walk from home, better jobs seemed hard to come by and I guess I was too stupid to just quit. When I did announce my resignation, the owner’s wife was ecstatic. She was disappointed at her failed past attempts to get me to quit. One time I told her I was thinking about quitting and she urged me to get it in writing first. Her husband probably got sex the day I quit.

If I could do it over again I would have announced my resignation through the PA system and walked out during the busiest time of the day. Two weeks notice is only a courtesy.

Daily Prompt: Pleased

 

9 comments on “My First Job

  1. samlobos says:

    Damn, my first job was in 1998 and I got paid $5.75

    Like

  2. cctyker says:

    My first job was a soda jerk in a drug store at 13 cents an hour. It was 1953; I was 13 years old at the time. If I remember correctly 13 cents an hour was minimum wage, which was a new concept at the time. It was a summer job.

    Like

  3. My first job was at a sportswear shop, I lasted 1 month the supervisor was a bitch, made everyone’s life hell, oh and the boredom. I was 17 and I think I was paid £4 an hour it was 2008. Unfortunately I am only paid £5.80 an hour now ($7.30) and it 2017 and I am 26 years old, damn I need to leave this job.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      In 2008 I was making $0 an hour. Oh wait, I worked at a call centre in Australia for 2 months.

      I get the sense there’s many people your age right now who earn a similar wage. The luxury with those jobs is that you don’t have to care so much about them.

      Like

  4. Mr.Johnsons' Not liking how it's going Cousin says:

    My employer went up .05 above minimum wage ($9.30) once minimum wage was raised to $9.25 a few years ago.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Your employer’s a loser

      Like

      • Mr.Johnsons' Not liking how it's going Cousin says:

        It’s all about the bottom line, which sucks unless you’re an investor in the company, or atleast not suck as much, if you work there and have company stock. I think about Westjet employees and their commercial slogan ,”Owners care.”

        Like

Leave a Reply

