Making Money Blogging

Last year I stumbled upon some guy’s blog where the theme was accomplishing financial freedom around the time of mid-life. At first I was suspicious because of all the websites and blogs that sell snake oil dreams around a similar premise. I’m convinced though that this guy is legit. He doesn’t really sell anything but instead shows you what he’s been doing. Most people wouldn’t be able to do it, I don’t think, but it is very realistic.

In the last 6 years he said he’s made about $120,000 USD through his blog and hopes to make $36,000 in 2017. It’s not a lot of money he’s made compared to grinding it out 40 hours a week at some job but it’s pretty impressive. To give more insight to the story he probably made a decent income when he was working as a computer engineer for 15 years, saved a good chunk of that money, invested and didn’t pick up a cocaine habit. What is more impressive though is that he convinced his wife to continue working while he took on the role as a SAHD. Women…fight for equality and see what happens?

So I was thinking…why can’t I do what he does? We’re both Asian, he’s probably smarter than I am but I’m probably more entertaining than him. If I can replicate even half his success I will be satisfied. I just need a subject that interests people and myself, and refrain from being an asshole. Apparently there aren’t enough people who are interested in my thoughts and feelings to get me paid. I blame Donald Trump. If ISIS wants to take responsibility they are free to do so.

The guy’s blog…

http://retireby40.org/about-2/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

