New Year’s Eve Thoughts

About half an hour ago I was shovelling the snow and it just dawned on me that it was New Year’s Eve. While many people are headed out to have fun or to just not stay home, I was pushing snow and thinking about life.

Every now and then I will come across the current biography of someone I know by word of mouth or through the internet. While I’ve been mentally wandering for the last 20 years, some others have been plugging away to secure a position far away from where I am.

While I clear the entire sidewalk around my home I think about the person who attained their master’s degree and went on to a have a good career while I’m living at my mother’s house without even an entry level job. The contrast between our lives reminds me of the cautionary predictions that would become of the one who just tries to cruise through life. I never doubted any of it, I just never knew what to do.

The design and development of a person will lead them to be the person they become. It’s the only way I can explain how someone can have the motivation to push so hard for so many years while others are alone writing on a blog on New Year’s Eve. Most of us generally want the same things out of life but chances are you will become what you are willing to accept.

Happy?…New Year.

2 comments on “New Year’s Eve Thoughts

  1. lightpuma says:

    I think there are too many factors at play to determine which one primarily determines our outcomes in life. But motivation is a big one, like you said. It makes all the difference, but it’s really hard to find. It doesn’t matter if you have a Lamborghini when you don’t know how to drive it or don’t have any gas.

    People’ motivations are often the same: family, passions, beliefs, ideals… These are the things that push us to do better and achieve more, and without them, only a psychopath could be ‘successful’.

    Society makes us thing that there is only one gold standard for success and anything that falls short of it is failure. But that’s not true. Personally, I think the most satisfying and worthy success is having a good family and community life, and living a life where you benefit others. Anything you manage to achieve beyond that is just a cherry on top. And some people might say ‘Oh, well you should be happy by yourself’. To them, I’d say watch “Into the Wild”. I think we can be peaceful to a certain extent as loners, but I don’t know if we can be truly happy, because we’re not designed to be lonely.

    I’ve been reading your blog for quite a while now, and it’s obvious that you’re an intelligent person, more so than average, because you notice things and see patterns that other people ignore, and you’re raw and honest in your philosophy. That’s why I always come back to read your blog! I hope this is the year that positive changes happen in your life. I hope something new and exciting and worthwhile happens. And I hope you write about it!

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Your second paragraph sums it up very nicely. I read ‘Into the Wild’ not too long ago. I really liked it. There was so much I connected with. I think the only way to be content with being alone is when you are 100% convinced that it’s the best way of life for you. Picture the old guy with a beard in the woods who doesn’t give a shit. The book is much better than the movie by the way.

      Great things could happen this year. We’ll see. Thanks for the kind words.

      Like

Leave a Reply

