Pre-marriage Counselling

Tell people that you are 36 years old and not married and they might have something to say to that. From my experience with volunteering with old people the old ladies will urge you to hurry up and get married while the old guys will have something more interesting to say.

A common old lady and young woman perspective is that there is no good reason for a man to be living if there is no woman in his life. What they are really saying is, “you need one of us.”

“Are you married,” he asks.

“Nope.”

“Lucky,” he says. I replied by saying that marriage can’t be all bad. He had nothing to say. I’m still wondering what kind of memories came back during that 3 second silence.

When I was promoting the volunteer services at a festival recently, for whatever reason this old guy asked me if I was married. When I told him I wasn’t he went on to give me a 5 minute lesson that coupled as a way for him to vent.

“Before you get married do everything you want to do in life.”

The weird thing is that some of these old ladies are either divorced, had their husband’s cheat on them and/or beat them.

A woman telling a man that he needs to marry a woman is like Apple telling people that they need to get an iPhone. A man taking another man’s advice about marriage is like reading the consumer reviews.

 

 

7 comments on “Pre-marriage Counselling

  1. Fred Colton says:

    Jesus Christ I’d finally just forgotten about the marriage quandary again when I zoomed to your blog and saw this. Btw good on your for volunteering.

    Like

  2. Screw marriage……

    Like

  3. Marriage is really about putting up with each other’s bullshit for years on end. I tell young gals half my age these days if I had to live my life over again, I wouldn’t get married or had a kid. My sole focus would be on wealth acquisition and subsequently a lavish single lifestyle. Really. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I wonder if for most people if it’s a case of the grass is greener. I think I like the advice of doing everything you want to do first or at least get sick of everything else so that marriage seems like a good option. The idea of marriage is silly though. Why does it have to be all in or nothing? I have a feeling that the structure of marriage/relationships will be much different in the future. Hey, single and rich can only be so bad. You might hate being single but I’ve never heard anyone hating being rich.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Most people I know who stick to their connubial bond simply hate the idea of being alone. But to be fair, I kind of buy into the idea of soulmates. Couples who complement each other and seem so happy together must have found sth that most have failed to search for their whole lives. Still, I’m not so sure. Said couples might also be merely tolerating each other’s BS. For me, it’s better to stick with the riches which can practically buy anything. πŸ˜€

        Like

        • MrJohnson says:

          The not wanting to be alone thing is a real issue, isn’t it. Not wanting to be alone might not be a good reason to be with someone but it’s understandable, I guess. Aside from the loneliness, people don’t want to deal with the social stigma. There’s no winning in life when it comes to the game of dealing with people or the lack of them. So ya, again, money is better πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

