Elderly Abuse

As you may know or may not know, I have a volunteer gig where I drive old people to places. They’re not supposed to give me anything in return except a small amount of money that is calculated by the volunteer agency.

This one old lady I have been driving has been insisting that I take her $10 every time I see her. I decline and then try to bargain down to $5 but I’ve ended up taking the $10 each time. I rationalize it’s not so bad with the following reasons…

  1. It makes her feel good
  2. She thinks she might die soon

I thought I had 3 reasons but I guess not.

Today she pushed me into taking $20. I really didn’t want to take it but she started getting upset so I just accepted it.

About half a year ago I was helping a really old blind guy with his groceries and taking him to the bank. When I got him home he wanted to give me $20. I told him it was too much but he insisted. I thought about it after, that maybe it was too much because maybe he didn’t realize he was giving me a 20. Canadian bills are different colours but still, he’s legally blind.

If they were to call a taxi to take them around it would be much more expensive and would not provide the assistance I give them as well but I still feel a bit bad for taking their money sometimes.

I suppose they want me to enjoy the money they give me so I do. Today I went and bought some used records.

20160909_171512

 

Daily Prompt: Volunteer

 

19 comments on “Elderly Abuse

  1. kalyrical says:

    Good on you for having such a rewarding volunteer gig. I think as long as your heart’s in the right place, which is clearly seems it is, take it. Obviously, it’s polite to decline, but it’s not like you took the gig knowing old men/ladies would throw money at you. You deserve those vinyls ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. These people want to share, or they wouldn’t offer you the money. If you were rude or insulting or otherwise ungracious, they would not offer. It’s an insult not to take it.

    My strategy would be to refuse once but not to argue if the person insists. I do that when people offer to pay for my dinner at a restaurant, for instance.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You should feel less bad and not just because you’re a good person for doing this whereas others may possibly take advantage but because you’re a good person for providing a service such as this and not taking advantage!

    Liked by 1 person

    • MrJohnson says:

      I know I’m not taking advantage but I’d hate it if they started to think money is playing a factor in my actions. I’m going to be more accepting of their gifts from now on though.

      Like

  4. I volunteered for 5 hours Thursday at the buffet, and 10 people left a dollar. The majority just expect you to wait on them. I don’t do it for the money but only 1 in 4 show their appreciation.

    Like

  5. Laurie says:

    I’d tell them I couldn’t drive them anymore if they tried to overpay. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  6. Hello Mr. Johnson,
    So you are basically an elderly uber! This is awesome! At the end of day it does not matter the amount you have it is the time you spend with human beings that enrich your life. You will not be worried about the money you have in your last days. The ending was a twist, did you tell the blind guy it was $20?

    Liked by 1 person

    • MrJohnson says:

      ‘Uber for the Elderly’ is a pretty good way to describe it ๐Ÿ™‚

      I thought the whole time he knew he was giving me a 20 but I forgot he couldn’t really see so I didn’t think to mention it.You forget sometimes that the person is blind and say things like, “watch out.” By the time I realized he may not have known what he gave me I was already home. It’s very possible he knew though.

      Thanks for the great comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

