Unhealthy Japanese Vehicles

In the 90s all the white guys that I knew were loyal to the American brands of automobiles because Japanese automobiles were seen to be unmanly. This was many years after the American brands solidified their reputation of being pieces of shit compared to Japanese makers. As time went on those same guys ended up buying Japanese because they were sick of their Fords and Chevys crapping out on them.

I was delighted when my mother gave me her 2006 Toyota Camry because I thought I would have a great car for years to come. Toyota serviced and mother driven, it couldn’t get any better for a used vehicle.

The car has been with me from 125,000 km(77,000 miles) and the odometre today reads 150,000 km(93,000 miles) and just a few thousand km ago the alternator went. Kind of early for it to be going but whatever. Now I’m dealing with some brake hydraulic issue that my mechanic cannot accurately diagnose but it’s rumoured to be the ABS pump unit or the master cylinder. These freaking parts aren’t supposed to go this early on a Toyota Camry!

Having done some research I’ve found out my car was made in Kentucky, USA. Okay now it makes more sense. Possibly some hick in the southern United States assembled my car while hungover from a 12 pack of Pabst Blue Ribbon beer. A Japanese branded car built in America is like an Asian born and raised in America…you’re going to lose at least some of the work ethic along the way.

Even if it’s some Japanese redneck assembling Toyotas in Kentucky it’s still not going to be the same consistent quality as if it were made in Japan by a bunch of Japanese people who would rather slice their stomachs open than to be off by an allowable 1/16th of an inch.

The 2015 Toyota Camry was also built with 75% American/Canadian made parts which makes the Toyota Camry about as Asian as Keanu Reeves or maybe even David Carradine who was a white guy who played an Asian on TV…an idea that people also bought into.

If most of the parts were made in Japan then it would at least be less like an Asian born American who is the first of their bloodline in history to be over 30% body fat. Instead, most of the parts and all of the assembly has that unionized, self-entitled attitude of “don’t work so hard otherwise they’ll expect us all to work harder.” The same attitude that built the legendary Ford Pinto.

8 comments on “Unhealthy Japanese Vehicles

  1. Wanda says:

    I think most manufactured products these days are made as cheaply as possible, with less and less quality, no matter where it comes from. Everyone is trying to make a buck.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bonsai says:

    Well I’ve worked in some of the supplier companies as an interpreter in the auto industry and the Japanese did a darn good job of making sure quality was first (well second after safety actually) and the Americans followed their direction. Consider the big airbag recall (Tahata I think it was) . . .that was caused by some rouge Japanese engineers and half ass approvals where a good number of folks looked the other way. They aren’t perfect!

    In any case, maybe you are right . . .we gave our son a 2009 Toyota Corolla and he has driven that thing wickedly for 160k miles without an issue. He used to hate Japanese cars and now he is a Toyota fan. Me, myself, I’ll take a Ford these days. That’s because I’m from Michigan I suppose.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I agree that quality has probably been compromised over the years even in Japan. I think because of the modern-day economy and the complexity of current automobile technology, it’s very difficult for the quality to be as reliable compared to 20-30 years ago.

      Apparently American vehicles are more reliable now so I guess they did follow the Japanese direction. I get the sense it only happened fairly recently though. Of course I could be wrong because I have not researched this at all. Maybe I’ll buy a Ford one day!

      If my Camry lasts 160,000 miles without anymore issues then I will forgive the Kentuckians unless if I find some KFC remnants under the hood.
      I like those Toyota Taxis in Japan!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bonsai says:

        There is no one I wouldn’t forgive. Shoot I know I would have taken a swig of that moonshine on my lunch break if he/she would have offered to share (there but for the grace of God go I . . .)

        Yes and we can all learn from each other. The Japanese learned from us as well. It is just a beautiful as the ending to the classic “Gung Ho.”

        Vinyl selection last night as the campfire blazed on, “Come Dancing with the Kinks” and Aerosmith’s “Get Your Wings.” Both highly recommended.

        You are one of the fun bloggers straight up.

        Like

        • MrJohnson says:

          That moonshine may have been part of that assembly line.

          I remember being a teenager and seeing “Gung Ho” on television. I didn’t watch it but I was slightly intrigued just like with “Samurai Cowboy.”

          I saw a used Kinks record at the store, thought about buying it but didn’t. I inquired about an old Aerosmith record on Craigslist for $1 but with my Ford Camry having problems at that time I didn’t go pick it up. “Get Your Wings” is a good one!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

