Gardening Ups and Downs

No one gives a shit about your garden. If I wasn’t into gardening I probably wouldn’t care either. It would be about as interesting to me as a lipstick review.

20160717_102048_resized

The summer weather has been mild with a handful of days reaching highs of only 24 degrees Celsius(75 degrees Fahrenheit). Many days have only seen a high in the upper teens.

To my surprise, mostly because I’m new at this, tomatoes have started growing. It was like they appeared out of nowhere. I’m in a secret competition with my uncle who has been growing tomatoes for a couple decades. My goal is to take away one of the few things in life he has to be proud about. It will teach him to think twice that us “young kids” don’t know anything. Luckily for him I really don’t know anything. I’m just winging all of this.

20160717_101804_resized

It’s been many many days since I’ve noticed holes in my cabbage plants. For some reason a couple nights ago I decided to investigate. The internet had me to believe that some small green monsters have been drilling holes and laying their dirty kids on my cabbage. There they were, on the underside of some of the leaves ready to be smooshed.

20160716_182058_resized

I harvested 2 good looking zucchinis recently but while doing so I accidentally cut off one of the vines. I’m afraid some bug or virus will get in through the hollow vine and destroy my plant via the matrix. Since this incident I’ve noticed the leaves have been deteriorating but it’s possible there’s no relation.

20160717_101759_resized

It appears that my zucchini plant has been under the spell of an affliction named, powdery mildew. Last night in the dark evening hours I went out to have a another look just for kicks which brought me another new gardening lesson. Some of the bugs like to come out at night to play with themselves and each other. The pill bugs and earwigs were having a party on my zucchini plant. With a pair of scissors I created a massacre that surely made it to their morning news. The next day I saw that the dead bodies were taken away. There’s a clean up crew that would rival the CIA’s.

It’s been a satisfying gardening experience so far. I’m semi-excited every morning to inspect my garden for growth. I’m hoping to get my hands on some marijuana seeds. I’m sure one marijuana plant won’t alert anyone and if they do catch me they’ll never take me alive, coppers!

11 comments on “Gardening Ups and Downs

  1. Bully for you. We’ve had temps close to 100 degrees Fahrenheit, not enough rain, and the powdery mildew, blossom end rot, and hole-making bugs are having a field day. Everything has quit blooming and is barely surviving (but for herbs, which are doing okay).

    Gardening is addictive. Marijuana grows to about six feet high. It grows wild in the ditches of Nebraska. They call it “ditch weed.”

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Lack of sun might be bad for some crops but it’s great going out weather. Zucchini plant issues seem to be inevitable unless the weather is perfect. I have this feeling something has stunted its growth. 100 degrees…that’s pre-heat stroke, hang out in your underwear weather.

      There’s so many different things to grow that it will provide years of interest. 6 feet high marijuana plants might be a problem. Hopefully they have a strain that grows shorter.

      What else are you growing this year?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m mostly growing weeds. Also, I have trees that need constant trimming. And a lawn that needs constant mowing. I also have deer that like to eat young shoots of everything, and blooms off the flowers.

        Have planted fruit trees–lime, lemon, grapefruit, tangelo–but they’re too young to produce yet. I get about 2-3 blueberries a day, which I feed to chickens. Fig tree, but figs lost to birds before I can get them.

        Have old stands of asparagus. They grow easily here, and they are perennial. Beautiful plants, but also grow to six feet high. The deer leave them alone.

        Tomatoes, cucumber, sweet pepper. Summer squash makes beautiful flowers, but no squash because of blossom end rot.

        Herbs: basil, parsley, chives, stevia, oregano, chocolate mint, a rosemary bush that has taken over. Deer and chickens leave them alone, too.

        I don’t use herbicides or pesticides because of the chickens and my own aversion to chemicals. A few eggs, when my only hen is in the right mood, but she is getting old.

        It sounds like a lot, but none of these plants is producing much food for me. I wonder why I bother, except that I love being outside. The animals are well fed.

        Like

        • MrJohnson says:

          Weeds add diversity. In the beginning I wasn’t sure what I was seeing in the garden were weeds or seedlings. Luckily I don’t have any 4 legged pests which could also be seen as dinner though.

          I bought asparagus seeds but I read that they might be difficult to grow so I never planted them.

          Sounds like you have an interesting garden/zoo going on there. I want chickens too but there’s this law in my suburb that I have to be on half an acre to do so.

          Liked by 1 person

          • My chickens like the weeds and the weed seeds. Asparagus roots may take better than the seeds.

            It’s probably easier to get anti-chicken laws changed than to get anti-marijuana laws changed. Backyard chickens (especially hens) are becoming more and more popular. They are fun, but they are trouble.

            About the zoo . . . last night, a black snake fell off the attic stairs into the back room of my house. I think it is a king snake, which is known for eating mice, which I’ve been plagued with this summer. The snake disappeared behind the book shelves, where mice also hang out. My cat is worthless for catching mice. She watches while they eat her cat food.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Zoe says:

    Liquid copper is organic and it deals with powdery mildew very well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

