Something to be Proud of

Often the people I assist at my volunteer gigs want to know if they can ask for me specifically next time. It melts my heart a bit and makes me wonder what I did that was so special. Whatever the case, I guess I’m good at what I do and I should be proud. It’s either I’m good at the job or everyone else is not so good.

My volunteer coordinator says I’m 1 in 10,000 or some other large number. Apparently it’s a rarity for a  person who is not retarded and of working age to be willing to do what I’m doing.

It means something. I don’t know what exactly. I just live by a different philosophy in life. Most people doing what I’m doing are either retired trying to fill up time or students needing a credit. Many other volunteers apply but never follow through. Some just come along to get a free criminal record check.

When I get a $2 tip I feel like I scored and then I realize that if I worked the same amount of time at a minimum wage job I would have received $10. At my old job I would come home from an 8 hour shift with $150 after taxes but it did nothing for me. At the time it felt like I was just getting an extra spoon when I already had 10.

It’s easy for me to do what I do because I put my ego aside. Once you cling to the idea that you’re getting ripped off or people only deserve sub-par service because it’s free is when you’re on your way out.

Someone informed me recently that some countries are rewarding volunteers with future benefits similar to a social security benefit. If it happens here I hope they will back-date my contributions so that I can get my diapers changed for free when I suffer from incontinence

3 comments on “Something to be Proud of

  1. The best things in life are free. I’m very productive in my “free” time. As soon as people start paying me, it feels like work and is less fun. This is a problem when it comes to paying bills. I prefer cash flow over hoarded wealth, un-American as that is. Tipping is one of the most genuine expressions of appreciation someone can bestow, because it is direct and usually voluntary.

    I’m told that Americans live to work, but the French work to live. When I count up ancestors, I have more French genes than any other, so my “bon vivant” attitude is genetic.

    Good post.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Once you’re on someone else’s schedule full-time and getting paid by them it changes everything. Tipping is a great way to brighten someone’s day, when it’s not expected. But if you tip 10% or less at a restaurant you’ll get the stink eye.

      I get the sense that some of the European nations are much more about the people than the money. Their vacation time, work hours, maternity benefits, university tuition are more desirable compared to the American and Canadian system. I was born in the wrong continent.

      Liked by 1 person

      • The Europeans have been practicing longer than Americans have, and they have suffered more from war on their own turf. Our “work ethic,” a Puritan concept, has led to the money-driven attitude today. Money is less important to me than quality of life. Living on “natural time” rather than clock time enhances quality of life more than anything.

        Now retired, I’m finding Social Security doesn’t even cover taxes, so I’m staying home to save money, using what I have (which is too much) and selling what I no longer need or want.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

