Backyard Adventures

20160703_091609_resized

Shanghai Bok Choy

Harvested my first vegetable from my garden today. It’s easy to grow and the pests don’t seem too attracted to it so I’ll be growing more of these.

 

20160703_093500_resized

So Asian

 

20160626_113511_resized

There’s a mole that’s been busy making holes everywhere.

20160626_113436_resized

Wasps have been making their home in the eaves. I confused them for a while by plugging their easy access routes but they eventually found another way in.

20160626_113400_resized

A soapy spray solution will kill them. There’s slight remorse though because I read on the internet that I may have been better off letting them thrive. They are actually quite friendly. Not one posed any threat of stinging me. Oh well, I did it and I can’t take it back. They still have a lot of friends kicking around still.

20160703_125449_resized

I haven’t gotten any better at lighting charcoal and all my previous methods haven’t proved as successful as I thought. Introducing the charcoal chimney! It works pretty damn good.

20160701_191437_resized

 

20160620_100929_resized

I don’t know what this is. Feel free to tell me if you do.

 

20160321_123938_resized

Before

20160703_125510_resized

After

20160417_182954_resized

Admission is free and so is Whack a Mole.

8 comments on “Backyard Adventures

  1. nannygrannie says:

    Is that bokchoy? So beautiful! What is the metal object you’ve put around it?

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Yeah, it turned out really well. Thank you! Since they are easy to grow and don’t need too much space between plants will be growing more of them instead of the other vegetables. In the top picture is a Chinese takeout container. But if you’re referring to the photo 2nd from the bottom then that is a table that I’m using to shade recent transplants.

      Like

  2. nannygrannie says:

    I see now! I’m sorry, half your post wasn’t showing up the first time I looked. It looks great!

    Like

  3. Wanda says:

    That looks great! I just harvested my first batch of green beans from my garden. They were awesome. I feel like I could be a farmer, but not really. I have roma tomatoes, cucumbers, green beans and mint growing now. So far, so good!

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Thanks. I’m satisfied at how it has turned out and thankful because I don’t know what I would do if it didn’t. At least I know the soil is at least somewhat fertile. I always hear green beans are easy to grow…maybe next year. Being a farmer for a season would be interesting. I would want the gopher shooting job.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

