Voluntary Solitude

Some cultural issues that have been long stigmatized have been trendy to write about in recent years. People who formerly had no outlet prior to the internet age can now send their message to the world about mental illness, introversion and being a loner. The internet has allowed losers a way to feel better about themselves.

Solitude can make you weird. It can make you follow through with the idea of peeing in your backyard more often than in your bathroom because there is no one to judge you. Even though you are saving 2 gallons of drinkable water for every urination, no one will respect you for it.

A recovering alcoholic would always like to have a shot of whiskey but they know it’s not a good idea. Voluntary loner or not, everyone would like some form of human interaction. I email people on Craigslist for items I don’t even want because I know there is a very good chance someone will reply to me. I’m joking but it could be a reality one day.

Hi, I’m interested in your broken mirror. Can you tell me how you broke it?

There’s this one friend I sometimes think of calling because not too long ago we would hang out and have a good time, and I know he is in my area quite often. I’m under the suspicion though he is avoiding me because he thinks there is a possibility I’m into his girlfriend. Even though I have no intention of stealing his girlfriend, I could see why he would be paranoid about the idea. Those things do happen. One day you think you’re happily married and the next day you come home early from work to see your wife in bed with your twin brother. Would that still be considered cheating?

So I don’t bother seeking his company because I don’t know how I feel about the idea that he thinks I’m after his girlfriend. Of course I could be wrong that he thinks this but nothing else makes as much sense. I’ll spare you the details. All the other people I can join for fun and games I completely avoid so this leaves me in a state of solitude most of the time.

Solitude is a good way to expand your mind. Enlightening thoughts don’t come around when you identify with the beliefs of the masses. A dose of solitude can be healing but too much for too long can drive you to madness.

Daily Prompt: Solitude

 

 

 

 

5 comments on “Voluntary Solitude

  1. Tony Vega says:

    I really love this post, it really made my day. I am lucky to have come across your blog. :o)

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on CELONA'S BLOG and commented:
    Voluntary loner or not, everyone would like some form of human interaction.
    “Perfect words on solitude” #MustRead

    Like

  3. samlobos says:

    I’m forced out of solitude everyday. Otherwise I’d probably lose my ability to speak human language.

    Like

Leave a Reply

