Funemployed Sandwich

If I had to choose the last meal of my life or the first meal after a long heroic battle saving humankind from terrorists, I might choose a greasy sub.

I went to gather the necessary parts for my funemployment sandwich and walked out spending more than I thought. Freaking cheese is expensive these days. The cows must be great negotiators. That might be a bad joke.

An advantage of not having to be stuck in someone else’s building or schedule the whole day is that you can take the time and energy to make your own meals. Instead of sandwich bags you bring out the cast iron skillet.

Since I like artichokes on my pizza I thought they would be sandwich worthy. The canned variety that I bought were kind of tasteless.

20160406_162743_resized

 

Since cheese was a bit pricey I put 2 slices making sure that I would be able to taste it. I don’t want to pay for something but not really get anything.

20160406_163049_resized

 

I should have put more onions. If you’re going to make a sandwich at home, the perimeter of your bun should be covered with your spread of choice. Only covering the middle is for slack off restaurants who don’t care about you.

20160406_163410_resized

 

A semi-runny egg always makes food taste better.

20160406_163518_resized

 

Unfortunately, I cooked the egg too long but it was all good.

20160406_163706_resized

I had a vegan meal in the slow cooker but it was taking too long. Beans, acorn squash, garlic, coconut oil and vegetable broth. If it tastes like dirt I’m going to have to mix salsa with it. Maybe I’ll dump the left over artichokes in there.

20160406_205148_resized

One day or maybe it is already, displaying photos of animal products will be considered offensive like how it would be if you showed drawn pictures of Jesus doing weird things.

2 comments on “Funemployed Sandwich

  1. You cook like I do. My specialties are things like “Everything in the refrigerator soup.” I just picked up a tip from reading “Diet for a Small Planet” (great, classic, published in 1971). Author Frances Moore Lappe suggests using mashed potatoes to make vegetable pie crusts. This would be great for people with gluten sensitivity. It also occurs to me that I can do the same thing with grits. I’m currently sampling a potato crust with sauteed fresh vegetables, ricotta and parmesan cheese, and an fresh-laid egg. Something between a casserole and a quiche. Not bad, for a first try.

    Using basic ingredients saves enormous amounts of money, like being a chemist in the kitchen. It also saves packaging waste.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I love making soups. Dump everything in a pot and put water in it. 1-pot meals seem to be popular these days. I’ve never heard of potato crusts. Sounds interesting. I want to say I’m going to try it one day but from experience I know it might not happen.

      When I cook I only use cheap ingredients. I don’t want to spend extra money on food I probably won’t cook too well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

