Drug Dealing and Other Things to do

You worked in the coal mine because that was what was readily available and possibly the only job during that time. Every era has its, “that’s what people did back then.”

The post-war economic boom era was the best. You worked some jerk-off job and it allowed an easy path to home ownership, acceptance and a comfortable life.

In more recent times there’s endless options but maybe none that are very desirable. If you were born around 1980 and after there’s a good chance you went to post secondary. School sucks as did the coal mine but “you do what you gotta do.”

I have mostly avoided all the available options thus far because I view things like a child. I never want to do anything that sucks or has a likelihood of sucking. I never really wanted to win. Every option to “get ahead” in my time was either a gruelling process or had horrible consequences. I know now if you want to succeed in life you just have to choose a path that offers success and accept the potential consequences. My game plan was to wait around for something wonderful to come into my life.

That’s not completely true. I had always thought that if I could land a job like the one I previously had I would be content. 40 hours a week, 20 something dollars an hour, benefits and no stress was my idea of succeeding. Sounds like someone was brainwashed by television sitcoms and blue collar family members. If I was living in the 70’s or 80’s then I may have been okay with it. A dollar doesn’t go very far these days and the novelty of a stable, secure job has worn off.

It’s always difficult to say what would have happened if you did this instead of that. To know for sure you would have to had lived both lives at the very same time. If I had been even semi-ambitious coming out of high school, chances are I would have got involved in the drug trade. Statistically it was my calling.

When I was 16, some friends in my group had dropped out and started a career in dope dealing. Not long after high school had ended many others had followed. The reality is that some people just aren’t fit for university and most don’t want to work for a shitty wage. At that time drug dealing was the thing to do.

Life has never really brought me closer to what I want to do. If anything it’s been more of a process of elimination showing me what I don’t want and can’t do.

 

 

7 comments on “Drug Dealing and Other Things to do

  1. amy says:

    great post. You where on a lot of money in that old job $3K a month. But if it sucks no amount of money will make it alright. Its been the same story where I am from in north England, I went to university got into debt and still cant find the dream job I was told was waiting for me. Do you have any ideas on what to is you want to do.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I was going to get a decent raise in 3 months too. The job itself wasn’t so bad but they just wouldn’t budge on 5 days a week or an unpaid leave of absence. Making the university route work these days can be so tough. It’s more expensive than ever and there’s more competition. It’s a lot of sacrifice for just a possibility and not always a good possibility at that. But sometimes it comes down to, “what else are you going to do?”

      I don’t know if I really have any ideas of what I’m going to do. They’re more like philosophies. The way I see it the options available are to work part-time at a regular job, invest in the stock market or start some kind of business. Creativity is becoming more important than ever.

      Like

  2. Hmmm I’m feeling this way about relationships right now… Like life just keeps showing me what I don’t want or can’t tolerate

    Like

  3. Wanda says:

    I’m 41 and I’m still asking myself what I want to be when I grow up. I had a career for 20 years, and left that to be a stay home parent. Now I have the time to figure out what I really want to do when I go back to work, and I’m at a complete loss for inspiration. Just waiting for lightening to strike…

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I was hoping I would die before 30 so I wouldn’t have to worry about all this stuff. 20 years is good run. I’m seeing quite a few people who are sick of their careers. No one seems to know what else to do either. Some don’t have a choice because of life long commitments. Guess we’ll have to see what happens.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

