Job Detox

Quite often I think about the job I left half a year ago and for fun/torment I will ask myself if I made the right decision. For most people I worked with they would never consider leaving without having something else lined up. Most of them there are probably going to be lifers.

If your mind is not that complex your thought process will stop at, no better job prospects…no quit.  My monkey mind often visits those fear and culturally based notions, and to answer them I have to remember the philosophy that I developed and believe in.

I still think about my last job because I haven’t completely moved on yet. I only volunteer a fraction of my available time and the uncertainty of my future doesn’t make for a totally carefree existence.

There’s a linear progression of, get training, get career, stay at career, that has shown success or at least the appearance of it. I guess when 80% of people jump off a bridge, many of them are going to live. You don’t hear enough about the people who quit their career, pondered about their life, started over, succeeded and lived happily ever after.

I don’t know what’s going to happen but it’s almost guaranteed that this route I chose will be far more interesting than staying at the same company for another 25-30 years. Security and stability is very unexciting. With no dental plan anymore though I can’t even be certain that I will have teeth in the future.

Just like all other generations now and before us, when you don’t have seemingly rational reasons to justify your hopes you just have to have faith.

 

 

 

5 comments on “Job Detox

  1. Good to have faith.. 🙂

    Like

  2. Jenna says:

    If you know just one person who quit his or her job, pondered life, started over, and lived happily ever after, you know it can be done.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I guess in theory that is true. It’s just not as encouraging when it seems to be the exception. But if people got on a boat 300 years ago to discover new lands with primitive knowledge and technology then I think I should be okay. At least I’ll be scurvy-free.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

