How to Have an Unsuccessful Blog

I’ve been blogging regularly for about 5 years and my success level is only a little higher than what it would be if I just wrote on paper and put it in my underwear drawer.

When I say successful I am referring to consistent ‘likes’ in the double digits and at least some comments for every post. I always get some ‘likes’ but I’m convinced half of them and sometimes all of them are those fake likers. There’s this one guy who will like the same post with 4 different accounts.

There are certain opinions and words that will disgust people and I have probably written on all of them in a very politically incorrect manner that sometimes borders on very offensive even though my intentions were to be entertaining.

“That’s so gay.” Lost a few readers there.

“The bible is a fairy tale.” Lost a few readers there.

“Being fat is probably your fault.” Lost a few readers there.

“Having kids is selfish.” Lost some readers there.

“Not beating your woman for one day is the best Valentine’s gift a man can give.” Lost 10 readers there.

Talking about suicide isn’t a very well received subject either.Β Using the word, “whore” extensively also doesn’t help.

There tends to be a bait and switch thing going on here too. Some start reading my blog posts because they expect it to always be humorous and then I get deeply depressing, negative or just too serious for them. And vice versa.

The other thing that I don’t do much of is find new blogs to ‘like,’ ‘follow’ and comment on. Many bloggers found my blog from my comments on mutually read blogs. I’ve never done the shameless self-promoting method of blind liking.

The best demographic you can get is the older folk because they usually don’t have much to do and less friends so they will be less likely to leave the WordPress world. I come off kind of immature sometimes so I tend to not get the 45 and above crowd too often.

Every year there’s an overhaul of readers. Some I may have offended away, some probably got bored here and others just left the blogging world. I will always feel nostalgia for all of them especially the ones that left sincere and kind comments. To have people read the crap that comes out of my mind without any solicitation from my part is flattering. I cherish the silent readers as well. You know who you are even if I never will.

As long as I am convinced that a blog post I’ve written has at least one real view I am somewhat satisfied. I could be full of shit. It’s sad to get zero views though. Might as well have just kept it offline and saved it on Microsoft Word.

Some might be thinking, your blog is unsuccessful because it sucks!Β Well, I can’t prove that it doesn’t but I’m not going anywhere. So until next time. Goodnight.

 

 

17 comments on “How to Have an Unsuccessful Blog

  1. I feel the same way about my blog. I’m writing my heart out in each article I publish but people don’t seem to care because it makes them question things they rather not think about ex: what your purpose in life is. But at the end of the day, I’m ok with that. I’m not willing to dumb it down for people or sacrifice my art just to gain a following. It’ll come in due time as long as we never compromise the art. Great post, looking forward to reading more.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Yeah, it feels better when you connect with people who like you for you. It’s also more motivating to write about whatever you feel like. I’ll sell myself out completely when someone offers me enough money to do so.

      Liked by 1 person

    • kalyrical says:

      Haha very discouraging title, that ended on quite an optimistic note. Keep on going!

      Liked by 1 person

    • MrJohnson says:

      Are you giving me the finger? lol

      If that video was any longer it would be a movie! Luckily I have nothing to do today. It’s a good reminder. I’m always working on not caring what others think but have needed a lot of work in this area.

      I am completely independent of the good or bad opinions of others. I am completely independent of the good or bad opinions of others. I am completely independent of the good or bad opinions of others.

      Like

      • tonyfelloni says:

        Of course I’m not giving you the finger! I recently discovered that guy and am slowly working through his videos. They are eye opening and a great aid to personal development which we could all do with.

        Like

  2. lisa74 says:

    My damn work and I guess some new friends I’ve made is taking up all my extra time…I haven’t been reading your posts lately due to life but I’m glad you keep writing =)

    Like

  3. I’m pretty sure I read your blog because you’re a similar, male version of me… and Asian

    Like

  4. That you consider your blog as not that successful is an understatement. It seems to be followed by many readers based on the comments you’ve gotten, Mr Johnson.

    I still like your blog and have no problem at all with any of the dark topics you normally deal with. You’ve known me more or less for quite a while so I guess it’s perfectly okay to be totally honest with you here. I admit I couldn’t relate much to the “getting high” posts and not because I’m being a prude or feeling holier than thou. Not at all. I’d felt disconnected on your previous successive posts on that because it’s a subject I always get lost at. Simply no idea on my part and nothing to share about it whatsoever.

    Besides, I don’t solicit or encourage readers to my blog anymore. It’s not for the faint-hearted. It borders somewhere between PG and Rated R. πŸ˜€

    “The best demographic you can get is the older folk because they usually don’t have much to do and less friends so they will be less likely to leave the WordPress world.” Hey, u talking ’bout me?! πŸ˜‰

    On a serious note, I don’t know if this notion has made an impact on you. A former blog buddy once told me taking a break from each others’ blogs is a natural part of it all. I didn’t agree then but I do now.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Hi! Hope you’ve been doing well or at least not that bad.

      My blog is not successful in the classical sense but I am fairly happy with how it’s turned out. Many of the comments I cherish including some of yours.

      I’m glad you feel that you can be honest here. I’ve always realized certain topics I blog about aren’t for everyone. Perhaps my blog is bi-polar. Maybe I should have started a few separate blogs but I’m too lazy to have to login to a different account every time.

      Haha..I wasn’t referring to anyone specifically. Just from my observations on other people’s blog I’ve noticed the older crowd are much more dedicated.

      I don’t know what is natural in the blogging world. From my experience so far it seems that everything is natural in the blogosphere. Most of the time though it seems when people take a break they never come back.

      Like

      • “Many of the comments I cherish including some of yours.” Ah, that’s music to my ears and the sweetest thing you’ve said to me so far. See, it’s good to miss each other every now and then. πŸ™‚

        I’ve no taste for highly successful blogs. The keepers of such sites have had their popularity gone to their heads and their blog posts together with their responses to the comments of their readers are mortifyingly generic.

        “Most of the time though it seems when people take a break they never come back.” Some but not all. In my case, 40% fall off the blogosphere that’s why they completely disappear; 10% of them naturally drift apart bcz of changes in blog relationship; 50% come back even just to say hi! once in a while. What can we do? People are people; they evolve. πŸ™‚

        ‘Hope you don’t mind if I comment on your other posts. But you gotta respond — or I’ll cry. Really. I need your proper attention. πŸ˜€

        Like

  5. WP.Andrew says:

    I disagree on one point. I like and comment on a blog post because I’ve genuinely read something thought provoking. Over 18 months (I deleted my old blog!) over many months I’ve never commented expecting something in return πŸ™‚

    Btw an interesting post, I used to convince myself if one person read I’d be happy hmmm maybe true, AND if you want to be successful on WP it helps to be age 20, female and pretty, absolutely NOTHING wrong lol, it’s the way of the world and fabulous πŸ™‚

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Hi. I’m not sure what the disagreement is. I never said you specifically fake ‘like’ or comment expecting something. Many bloggers do it though. It’s great that you don’t!

      Being female and pretty helps with everything including raising the chances of an unwanted pregnancy πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the comment. I always like connecting with new bloggers.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

