Degenerate Citizen

About half a year ago the banks would look at my life on paper and give me a nice thumbs up for being employed at the same company for 7 years, having savings in the account and a great credit rating. What a fucking nerd, I know. I would be a responsible family man and that’s why the thought of being one does not appeal to me.

For my whole legal adult life I cared a lot about my credit score as I thought a mortgage would be in my near future. The balance was always paid in full and on time ensuring those devils at Visa and MasterCard would never make me their bitch.

During the tail end of my employment, I was in a good position to put a nice down payment on an apartment…a new one even. That was the fork in the road of life for me. Once I signed those papers for a $300,000 box it would mean handing over my testicles for a very long time to my job and to whoever had power over it. Some say, “that’s life,” but as you might know I said no way to Jose and the rest of them. 

I used to decline offers for new credit cards offering incentives to sign up because applying for numerous credit cards affects your credit score. I don’t give a shit anymore.

“We give you a free coffee if you sign up today”

“Sure, why not. Sign me up.”

“Sir, if you sign up today,  you get 10% off the whole store.”

“Oooh, I like the colour of this card. Give me two.”

Some might say that I’m spiraling down to the gutter of life where one-armed hobos and toothless hookers reside. I think I’ll be okay. I have lots of credit cards.

 

 

 

8 comments on “Degenerate Citizen

  1. Sounds like a plan. Thumbs up

    Like

  2. Hmm… You’re late to the stop! Use credit card A to pay credit card B and so on! I’m proud of you…. or we both need financial counseling… Haven’t decided yet but I found a good fortune teller for just 1.99 a minute… I’ll put it on the blue Cap1

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Haha..ya I know, I’m a little late. I’ve been paying late too recently because I forget about the due date. I was always massively afraid of being in credit card debt. My mother’s immigrant wiring must have carried over to me.

      A fortune teller sounds fun! There’s a palm reader near by where I live who charges $10. I’m going to check it out just so I have something to blog about.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lol.. makes for good conversation for sure!!! My sister actually has a ton of tarot cards, she has not “read me” in a long time but I’m sure I could talk her into it at some point… and depending on your perspective you could see hear something of meaning even if it wasn’t intended….

        Like

  3. culturemonk says:

    “Some might say that I’m spiraling down to the gutter of life where one-armed hobos and toothless hookers reside. I think I’ll be okay. I have lots of credit cards.”

    Awesome paragraph to end it on J….loved it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

