Professional Anything

When you are at your job long enough, you become a professional at it whether intentionally or not. 8 hours every day wiping asses will make you superior at your craft over the average citizen with the best name brand 3 ply.

After a few years of delivering parcels in the same area, I can confidently say that there are less than a handful of people in this world who could navigate that area better than I. Unfortunately, such knowledge does not land me any great opportunities or beautiful women. I should have dedicated those years instead to weight lifting and the art of lying.

With several hours of spare time and energy, I have the opportunity to become a professional at something. The overwhelming population will only spend 8 hours a day on something if they feel they have to. To do so purely out of your own desire is for the insane and very successful.

There’s a bowling alley not too far from here. I’m sure they would give me a discount if I went there every day. Chances are there will be some semi-professional bowlers there who have no purpose in life and would be glad to mentor me.

As a more pragmatic approach to life, I could consider training as a barber and cut people’s hair in my garage. The downside would be that I would have to cut people’s hair. Life is so unfair.

I may have to go back to my high school counsellor for guidance with what to do with my life. Evolution has its disadvantages, I think. In a hunter gatherer setting I would be in the great outdoors stalking buffalo and women would have their breasts for all to see. With no police, hospitals and rubbing alcohol, death would be my answer to not knowing what to do with my life.

 

Daily Prompt: Successful

 

8 comments on “Professional Anything

  1. HappyApathy says:

    Back when the economy was terrible, and people all around me were getting laid off, I hatched a back-up plan, kind of like a concierge service. I even had a name for it: Cheap Car Cheap Driver. I would run errands for people, old people mostly. This is when I lived down in Florida, and there were lots of retirees all around me. I’d run errands, and I’d run them to their appointments and what not. The only thing that worried me was medical emergency type of stuff…liability. Maybe just the errands running part – not actually bringing them in my car with me. Just charge em gas and charge em a modest hourly wage, break it down for em….tell them they should chip in with their other oldster friends, and I’ll go get crap for the lot of em.

    Like

  2. Jenna says:

    There’s a service called Favor that does that as well. Do you have Uber? You could be an Uber or Lyft driver!

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Uber is having a difficult time getting set up here. I thought about it though. I drive a Toyota Camry so might as well..haha. I just have to beware of taxi drivers ambushing me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jenna says:

        That’s been a bit of a problem here, too. I was accosted at an airport, but at the end of the day, I’m still going to take Uber. I think most young people feel the same way, and the only places I can see Uber having issues are where taxis are HUGE, like Chinese cities or NYC…

        Like

        • MrJohnson says:

          Sucks to get harassed for something like that. I always hear people on podcasts talking about how often they use Uber. I think you’re right about most young people wanting Uber. It’s usually just older people who dislike change.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. True George says:

    Malcolm X said that if you choose to be a street sweeper make sure you become the best street sweeper there is. So make sure you are the best parcel deliverer there is.
    If you want to do more then that the sky is the limit you just need to make up your mind what you want to do…..

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      It sounds like a good way to be. Easier said than done I guess. Motivation is the key. Just to be the best for the sake of it is exceptional. I have never been able to make up my mind with what I wanted to do but I’ve found I’ve come closer by deciding how I want to live.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

