Writing a Book

Before I got on WordPress a few years ago, I had never heard of anyone I knew who wanted to write a book. If I had, I would have probably laughed at them. WordPress has taught me that the idea of writing a book might be more popular than I once thought.

So here I am entertaining the idea of writing a book. I feel embarrassed to even have this aspiration because I might become one of those bloggers who talks about writing a book but never does it. I started writing it and very soon I realized it’s not that easy even if you have massive amounts of content in your head. The difficult part I’ve found so far is structure. I started writing and then it just went all over the place to the point where I started getting confused what I was writing about. I’m still not 90% sure what exactly this book will be about.

A question that I continue to ask myself is if anyone would even find what I’m writing about interesting. I kind of concluded that it doesn’t matter as much compared to how much I will enjoy writing it. To me, this book has no chance of getting done unless I enjoy doing it.

It will be a non-fiction book about life, work, culture and something else at the end. “Something else” is dependent on what happens with my life in the short-term future. I’m afraid not having any idea of what the ending chapters will be about will allow my brain to give me permission to procrastinate. There’s also a strong assumption that I have that certain unhealthy drugs will give me the power to write like a very motivated person but I don’t intend to go down that route. I’ll have to rely on good old strength and determination that tends to not be very reliable. Mine is usually comparable to a Ford Pinto.

Attempting to write this book is similar to my life in that there’s not much steam because of the uncertainty of the direction. I suppose if I can’t produce enough material then I will have to demote my book to a booklet and if there’s not enough for a booklet then it will just be a very long blog post.

 

 

 

18 comments on “Writing a Book

  1. How long have you been working on it?

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I started a few weeks ago but if you want to calculate it by hours it’s about a handful…lol. I learned that it’s easier if you start with ideas for chapters and then breakdown what you want to say in those chapters.

      Like

      • Well you should definitely keep working at it. I wish I had some wise advice to give you but I don’t. I’ve been trying to write a book for two years now and structure is a huge task in itself. I’m curious as to how others go about it. I haven’t been following your blog too long but I enjoy it. Keep working on the book.

        Like

  2. GM Roberts says:

    I have reposted a blog that kind of gives my thoughts on the subject of your post; for what it’s worth.

    Like

  3. HappyApathy says:

    I worked with a lady who put out two eBooks. They were of the fantasy variety. We bonded on writing and reading and books that we had read and literature stuff like that. I never did get around to buying her eBook. My reason for buying it would only have been because we were friends, not because I like fantasy stuff.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Yeah, I’ve bought films that people made only because I knew them. I wanted to support their ambitions. It’s always more interesting when you know the creator of the work. Some of the people who know me would want to read whatever book I put out there but maybe not many others.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. marclevytoo says:

    No matter what, it will be fiction.

    Like

  5. Read one of your favorite books. Don’t think that great writers did not read books. . Think about what you can’t live without, what I mean love to write about ~ a murder mystery or otherwise. Do a few chapters. Some people write a page a day because it’s so exhausting (Robert B. Parker) find your niche, and relax Tell the story you would like to hear if someone else was writing this book. Never compromise. Do rewrites if it sounds too goofy so what ~ Woody Allen is always scratching out stuff. You can be sure we are all fragile and make mistakes. Do not be too ridged with yourself. My best writing came when I wrote something and looked at it a week later and moved paragraphs ~thought some info was yucky; Erase a line or two and added a line or two. Good luck my friend!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think the advice is just write, even if its terrible and you delete it immediately – you’ll improve and the ideas will flow. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

