Praying to Jesus

The old guy I am in communication with makes plans to have me over for dinner at his place on a semi-regular basis but 9 times out of 10 he ends up cancelling because he doesn’t feel well enough on the day of. Never having any solutions or any that he is willing to try, I kindly offered to pray for him. He was all for it. I then asked him if he would like me to pray to Jesus or Allah. He said either one would do but he preferred Jesus.

I was joking with him but I had 10 minutes to spare between the end of the phone call and the time that the guy from Craigslist was going to come by so I thought, why not? The placebo effect has been proven to work so I figure the belief in prayer can possibly be just as effective.

I closed my eyes, put my hands together and silently made-up a prayer. Being a worrisome person, I thought maybe I had to say it out loud for the prayer to have any chance to penetrate the atmosphere and make it through to heaven. So I did it again and ended it with an, “amen.”

A thought occurred to me that my prayer may have gone to the holy trash bin because I don’t think Jesus ever learned English. English was not even a language back in his day. Even if he had learned the first version of the English language he still wouldn’t be able to understand my English.

The argument would be that Jesus knows everything so it wouldn’t matter anyway. If that’s true could I just make up my own language and he would understand that as well? If Jesus is on a first-prayer, first-answered kind of thing then it’s going to be a while until he gets to mine.  We’ll see what happens.

Amen

 

3 comments on “Praying to Jesus

  1. Jenna says:

    That’s the thing about prayer…you never know. I had prayed and prayed and prayed for something, and sure enough, what I needed to happen did – but about a month too late. I have been making efforts to attend church and pray on walks instead of listening to music I’ve heard hundreds of times, but sometimes I get lost in the “Is anyone even listening?”

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      It’s worth a try. It also feels like a form of meditation. I hope you weren’t praying for a new iPhone. My biggest fear with attending church is having to sing songs. Yeah, the doubt that anyone is listening is discouraging and makes you wonder how crazy you might be.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jenna says:

        I don’t sing in church. Shower, car, sure. Church, definitely not. I was praying for someone to find strength, patience, and clarity. He figured stuff out, but by then damage had been done and it was a disaster. I try to ask God for tools, not for things, otherwise I seem like a petulant kid. I think the “Are you there, God?” bit is where faith comes in.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

