Who Are You?

I fell into the same cultural mind trap that most people do when asked, “so, tell me a little about yourself.”

Not expecting the question, my brain went to the region that would provide the most comfortable answer. It went to that place that pulls out responses about employment and other attributes that make you appear “normal.”

It just goes to show you how the unconscious mind takes over in times when quick reactions are needed. It wasn’t a stressful situation but an interview with a stranger for a volunteer position to help the visually impaired is out of my comfort zone.

What’s really peculiar is that I have written about myself so often that when asked about myself I should have no problems throwing out answers. If I was really brilliant I would have just rehearsed my ‘About’ page from this blog because that’s who I really am…not some job I recently quit or the job I don’t have right now. I guess in certain situations I’m just looking to give people what I think they want to hear.

 

13 comments on “Who Are You?

  1. Pat says:

    Isn’t it amazing how we have rehearsed that speech time and time again. Without thinking about it, we are automatically in a zone that’s usually expected from us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • MrJohnson says:

      Yeah, and telling people anything but the usual draws suspicion. I have to think of something more interesting to say next time. I feel like a lamo giving the same old speech.

      Like

  2. Dori Nicole says:

    I always feel an urge to fix my about page, but I never can make a decision of which person living inside of me that I should talk about.

    Like

  3. amy says:

    The worst question anyone could ask me is “What do you do?”. Hmmm well when I say I quit my job a few years ago, now I work at bar and I want to be a film director. That makes them think I am a crazy slacker. You get judged so much by what job you do. I work at bar/kitchen of an italian restaurant I like the job because it’s easy. When I say I went to university but couldn’t get a good job after I graduated (like how it is advertised to you), people think I am lazy. I hate telling people my job because it doesn’t sound cool enough. I went to a halloween party, full of strangers that was the first question that came up in a room full of strangers staring at me “I work at a restaurant” kind of boring answer.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I dreaded that question for my whole life because it always made me feel insecure and I would always let it show. I never thought someone who graduated from university was lazy regardless of the outcome. I could imagine people maybe pitying someone who didn’t get a good job after.

      If I could go back I would tell people where I worked without projecting the embarrassment I felt about my jobs. But ya, it’s a shitty part of life that we are judged by our jobs.

      Like

  4. kalyrical says:

    Haven’t re-read your about page in ages. Gives me inspiration to rewrite mine! L

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Yeah, I wrote an About #2 recently. I think it’s good to re-read your old thoughts. It reminds you of where you were in that time of your life, what you wanted and where you are now. I’ve always liked reading people’s About pages especially if they are personal and honest.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I recently read or listened to something (can’t recall now), someone saying that when they’re asked to tell about themselves, they say what they’re passionate about instead of what they work. And that turns the conversation in a completely different direction where the people share their passions and are feeling excited rather than dull.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. HappyApathy says:

    I hate it when somebody asks me if I have any hobbies…because I don’t…and that sounds horrible. Reading isn’t really a hobby, or is it? Blogging? If I told them about my blog, they’d actually want to read it (no!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

