Brain Mush

This volunteer gig where I help seniors shop for groceries is showing me how much my brain function is deteriorating at the age of 36(my birthday was in late December, thank you). I get a shopping list and almost every time there’s simple mistakes that I make. I get the wrong quantity, brand or something else. There’s mentally challenge people working at this volunteer gig as well which makes me wonder if people think I’m mentally challenged when they see my mistakes.

I have concentration and memory retaining issues. I’ve been noticing this for the past couple years and I blame it on the many hours spent on the internet. They say it takes 10,000 hours to master a skill so now I’m a master at quickly scanning information and mentally moving on to the next task. They tell me to get a case of 12 bottles of water, I walk down the aisle, lock my sights on the brand and  pick up a case of 24 because I don’t even think to look. Other times I don’t read the words on the list carefully enough. It worries me because 70 year old ladies who volunteer there correct me from 10 feet away.

It’s also possible that the last 3 years of my previous job made me stupid because I didn’t need to use my brain very often. The use of a smartphone since 2013 could also be a contributor. I’m further evidence that the world is going to phase out our brains with the advancement of technology. Or maybe it’s just me whose brain is turning into mush.

4 comments on “Brain Mush

  1. Dori Nicole says:

    Who needs a memory when we have external hard drives? It’s how we become robots. It’s our future.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Ya I guess…lol. But we are still in transition so I need this brain to work a little better. Maybe I am ahead of my time…haha

      Like

      • Dori Nicole says:

        an old employee came out to me to say he was born without a leg and is using a prosthetic so he needed frequent breaks. I said it was cool that he was already born a cyborg and didn’t have to wait for progress. I became his favorite person to work with somehow lol

        Like

        • MrJohnson says:

          HA! I’ve always thought that losing 1 leg or 1 hand wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world. I’d get a metal leg or a hook for a hand. It be pretty badass. Plus I would be categorized as disabled which would let me get away with a whole bunch of shit.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

