Just Say No

All these items pictured below were available when I had steady income but the idea of exchanging my misery for these items was not justifiable in my head. Much of life is about the outside forces devising and executing ways on how to get your money. They know you want to impress your friends and that your life is probably at least somewhat meaningless and boring. Materialism is the drug of choice for non-drug users. The high quickly diminishes and your tolerance is no longer challenged but don’t worry, they are in the lab creating better shit. You need to buy stuff to give this train a reason to keep going.

Sooner or later they will get your attention. The innovation, advancement in technology and affordable price tag gets your brain doing calculations to come up with the final answer of “you can do this.”

Don’t get the wrong impression. Some of the things they come out with find that monkey part of my brain that goes, “me likey and me want.”

I was using a CRT television(box shaped ones) until 2012 when they got me. I rationalized that a slim LED TV would save space, look nicer in every aspect and could double as a computer monitor. I guess that was always the case but now they were cheaper, slimmer and came with more options. This is the case today compared to when I bought one.

images

First you get the TV then you get the power then you get the woman.

Just recently they got my attention again. They somehow knew that I have a taste for old stuff so they resurrected the old design of SLR cameras. They want you to cheat on your current assets by sweetening the deal every year until finally you give in to having an affair. It’s your 70 year old wife 40 years younger, 20% less fat, 20% more muscle and 4 times the wisdom. You could say no but you would be a fool.

fujifilm_16471574_x_t10_mirrorless_digital_camera_1149206

These wireless speakers are going to break me soon. They’re portable, connect wirelessly with all your bluetooth devices and the sound quality continues to improve while the price goes down. I reckon that everyone will have one soon.

l_10133162_003

In this stage of my life I am trying to avoid the facets of life that are geared strictly to comfort and convenience. They got my attention but they’re not getting my money…yet.

 

3 comments on “Just Say No

  1. Mr. Johnsons' Cousin says:

    You won’t be able to say no once you find a really good deal on Craigslist. It will be easily justified.

    Like

  2. HappyApathy says:

    Speaking as a fellow minimalist:

    A camera is justifiable because you can use it to create!

    If you wanna go cheap, get a Holga camera. Maximum creativity and spontaneity (it’s how the pro’s go cheap and spontaneous. You never know what’ll come out — other than the underlying scope of what you point the thing at. Serious. You might wanna look into that).

    I finally broke down and got a slimmer and more modern TV. It does use up less juice, and it takes up less space. It didn’t slam my funding too badly either.

    Speakers – music is thought lubrication, in my view. A life without music is madness, as the old man said.

    Just say yo.

    Liked by 1 person

    • MrJohnson says:

      I was going to say that about the camera being the only justifiable purchase but I forgot and hit the publish button. It’s true though, if you’re into that sort of thing. Otherwise the smartphone camera will suffice 90% of the time. I have an older DSLR but these new ones are smaller and probably better. Never heard of the Holga but I’m going to check it out.

      Ya, it’s all about your current situation. The TV technology keeps advancing and the price keeps dropping while the one you have seems to get shittier. It gets to a point where it’s justifiable.

      Music is essential, I agree. I have other devices just nothing portable and neat. Those aren’t too expensive so if some justifiable reason happens to rationalize itself in my head it could happen,

      There’s a lot of people out there though who don’t listen to music. It’s quite fascinating.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

