Almost Christmas?

I’m barely aware that Christmas is just a short time away which gives you an indication of how important Christmas shopping is to me. When cultural norms play a small role on how your mind functions, you are sometimes a little oblivious as to what other people see as abnormal.

After years of people asking, “have you finished your Christmas shopping yet?” I started to realize that if you don’t Christmas shop you are probably considered to be a dysfunctional human being. I suppose one who does not buy Christmas gifts would be thought of as a person who has no family or friends…a lonely sap who nobody likes.

I have nothing against buying Christmas gifts for people but it starts a situation of obligation that can get weird. You buy someone a gift then they feel obligated to get you one and it can only have an awkward ending.

If we’re going to exchange shitty gifts then we’d might as well just buy gifts for ourselves so that there is no disappointment and no one has to pretend that they’re not thinking of re-gifting. Your gift cards are only well-received if there’s no gift expected in return.

There are nice gifts though that can be loved for a lifetime. Receiving something that you can keep forever from people you like and hopefully will always like is a treasure.

I’d rather give gifts on a random day because there’s much more impact when it’s not expected. You give a gift on Christmas and people are like, “thanks” but give one on June 17th and it will be like a sucker punch of kindness. When you get gifts on Christmas it feels like it’s just part of the game. It’s almost as if there needs to be a designated day in order for people to be nice.

So what should I buy myself this year?

 

 

14 comments on “Almost Christmas?

  1. Hahaha I was just thinking about my lack of Christmas gift buying.

    Like

  2. Loving the random day concept.

    Like

  3. Andrew Cinko says:

    My feeling toward Christmas shopping is a little different. I barely have enough money to survive for myself. Then people want me to buy something for them, but I can’t afford anything. Should I feel like a bad person not buying anything for Christmas, even when I literally cannot afford anything for myself? It’s a rough way to exist.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Yeah, that can be a tough situation. Your other choice is to buy cheap presents but that might make you look cheap. Lose, lose. If you can make something for people that would probably be well received.

      Like

  4. spearfruit says:

    This post is so spot on – I totally agree. I do not buy Christmas gifts and have not for years. Now everyone I know, including my family have come to expect this. So if they give me a Christmas present, they know not to expect one back. 🙂

    Like

  5. BerLinda says:

    I still haven’t bought anything. My sister has a wishlist on asos.com. I’m like, yeah, I don’t need anything. I don’t. Most people don’t. It’s a total waste of time and money.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      A wishlist seems like a way to get people to buy you stuff so that you don’t have to go get it yourself. Yeah, it’s quite the burden to shop around when it’s so busy but then again I’m sure a lot of people now are doing Christmas shopping online. I would have more fun shopping for myself. But what about the Christmas spirit?

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wanda says:

    I’ve been pleading with various family members for years to end the cycle of excess. No one listens to me. Half of my family goes crazy with gifts and the other half doesn’t do gifts because no one can really afford to except for their immediate family. And I’m ok with that. Another thing I do is bake. I’ll do four or five different types of holiday cookies or treats and give them away in decorative holiday boxes or tins. I’ve found that friends and family appreciate the baked gifts way more than some generic something or other I found at the mall.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      It’s hard to get a whole group of people to give up Christmas completely. I guess I would consider giving gifts to the kids in the family though. Luckily there are no kids in my family..Whoohoo! Yeah, homemade baked goods are a good gift…only if they taste good though. Mmmm..now I want some brownies.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

