Black Saturday

20151128_145033_resized

A 1pm sun in the sky at this time of year doesn’t bring itself up high enough to touch half of the city. A few steps from my door was a patriotic offering from nature.

I don’t live in a very hip neighbourhood of Vancouver so all there is to offer are the usual suspects such as fast food, 7-11, big box stores and a few Asian mom and pop restaurants. There’s also the liquor store which was my initial reason for leaving the house but rather than letting the temptation of easy but regretful stimulation win, I opted for the McDonald’s route.

20151128_155128_resized

Sir, would you like to get 2 pies instead. It’s cheaper.

No thank you.

It’s only 25 cents extra.

I don’t want to eat 2 pies.

Could I eat 2 pies? Hell yes. Would I enjoy it. Hell yes. But a small cheeseburger and 2 pies would put me over 100 grams of carbohydrates in one sitting. I could have given the 2nd one away though.

McDonald’s is upping their game. They have the orders with corresponding numbers that appear on an LED screen. Number 162…162. Just before I left there was an old man in my vicinity with a severe hunchback. I immediately corrected my posture. I think bad posture was only an issue when humans began to live past the age of 50. The mentality of life used to be, “whatever, a lion might bite your head tomorrow anyway.” Now it’s, “you’d better watch out, you don’t want to be 70 and blah blah blah.”

On the way home I dropped by Staples(big boxed office supplies store). It was only recently Canada adopted Black Friday sales. I think it was during the time when the American dollar stunk and they wanted to discourage Canadians from going over the border(75% of Canadians live within 100 miles(161 kms) from an American border) to spend their money in the USA.

20151128_155819_resized

Staples wasn’t too happening. This is how it looks most of the time. I don’t see it being around for too much longer. I have my eyes on a plush office chair. When I’m looking for human interaction this is a good place to go to. The people working there don’t have shit to do and they feel obligated to be nice.

It’s going to be a green tea type of night. Sometimes a day feels like a success as long as I don’t spend any money or very little anyway.

 

 

 

7 comments on “Black Saturday

  1. BerLinda says:

    Staples looks a bit like Latvia 😉

    Like

  2. Damn it as I read about the hunchback I automatically corrected my posture

    Like

  3. Jenna says:

    Staples isn’t terrible, but Black Friday scares me. I figure just wait till Cyber Monday…

    Like

Leave a Reply

