Facebook Life

I have 15 “friends” on Facebook which baffles me because I thought I had 17. At my max I had over 100 which is small compared to many. I’m a purist in that I would only add people who I had some experience with. You don’t get to be my “friend” just because we shook hands.

I’m also a person who believes in equality so when I wanted to delete 1 friend, I deleted all the others who belonged in the same category. I realize you may think I’m extreme or irrational but I don’t want to be labelled as an unfair person. There are also no family members because I deleted them all as well.

So who do I have left as friends then? The only people I’ve kept are people who don’t live in the same city or people who don’t have my other contact info. Facebook is for creeping or to keep in touch so if you have my other contact info then you’re just creeping.

Also, I wanted to fall off of the proverbial face of the Earth from some of these people. Facebook is often Fakebook. People like to think that if they interact with you in some way on Facebook it means you are friends. “Happy birthday.” How did you know? Oh wait, you got a notification.

Of course this can all be taken as cynical which it probably is. Facebook can be seen as another means of fun and staying connected. It just seems too disingenuous for me to take part but I’m too complicated for my own good.

 

Daily Prompt: Connected

15 comments on “Facebook Life

  1. Somebody got inspired to write about Facebook πŸ˜‰ I have been bogged by it for a very looong time, but recently I started viewing it as the first step where we can start “shouting out” the change we want to see in the world. At least by the time they shut FB down. For now it is a tool. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • MrJohnson says:

      It can be a tool. Depends what you use the tool for. A wrench works great with nuts and bolts but it can also be used to bash in skulls. I’m not against Facebook though. Social media has allowed for some great possibilities that wouldn’t have happened otherwise. It has great positive potential.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I ain’t active on Facebook and I presently only use it to show support for my favorite U.S. presidential candidate. Now don’t you laugh at me, MrJohnson πŸ™‚ . That can be considered a good use of the bllion-dollar company by Zuckerberg (hope I got his surname right). Uh, same for my Twitter.
    Oh, but since you have an FB account, we just gotta be friends (I’m also that much complicated). You must not refuse my friend request. Or I’d be crushed.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I don’t have much of an opinion regarding the presidential election. The whole Donald Trump thing is kind of odd but not really. I suppose a successful business man should get more credit than Hollywood actors to run for office. What scares me most about him is his hair. Friends on Facebook? I don’t know, it’s a very prestigious list that gets shorter every year. You can put in an application πŸ™‚

      Like

      • I’ve heard Donald’s hair is now bulletproof. What can I say — I love the man. πŸ™‚
        I would have felt the same for your baby-faced president Trudeau, I guess, who, by the way, has just been here.
        Just don’t let me find you on Facebook… he he

        Like

  3. lightpuma says:

    I agree that Facebook feels a bit disingenuous. My social life was never large or complicated or virtual enough to warrant that kind of online presence.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Hi. Long time. Facebook is pretty boring if you have a small friends list.

      You adapting to your new city?

      Like

      • lightpuma says:

        Yes, long time! I’m having exams again, and for some reason that’s usually the time when I find myself crawling around on your blog.

        Calgary is really different than any place I’ve lived in before, but by now adaptation is my second nature. You could throw me in Tanzania and I’d feel like a native by the end of the month.

        My family was finally able to buy a new house and we’re moving into it at the end of the month. This is like a huge deal because we’ve been crammed into rentals for a few years now, fantasizing about getting a house.

        It hasn’t really sank in yet. I think when we finally get the keys on possession day, we’re all just gonna quietly stare at each other, and then start screaming.

        Like

  4. Jenna says:

    Why not just message people your contact info and then delete your account all together?

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Hmmm…I’m sure I thought about it before. I guess I still want to participate on Facebook to some small degree. I’d be lying if I said I’m keeping it so that I can comment on certain websites.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

