Unorthodox Living

In my 20’s I spent as much time employed as I did unemployed. No matter what the situation there’s always a stigma with being unemployed. Somehow it was less frowned upon to be broke or in debt but employed than it was to have money but be jobless. Made me wonder if the whole point of working was for acceptance or for money.

A common rationale is that you work so that you can live the life that you want. You work, get paid and spend the money on what you like. I did just that as well but my method was more unorthodox. They say time is precious so I used my money to buy time off.

My gift to myself gave me the opportunity to explore new hobbies, go on extended vacations and do whatever really. There were also times of stress though because I felt what I was doing wasn’t benefiting “my future” and it would one day leave me in a state of regret and loserism.

In my mid-30’s now and I’m basically living the same way. See, that’s what happens when you don’t buckle down. Recently, I had a thought that the way I had been living in my 20’s is a way that is better for myself even now and in the future. In my confined mind of the past, wanting to live in the manner that I currently do was unimaginable. I’m not saying my life at the moment is my ideal way of living but I will choose and accept this lifestyle over the one that most others would choose for me.

 

 

2 comments on “Unorthodox Living

  1. cctyker says:

    Hmmm. I wonder if you saved money.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I guess it’s pretty obvious..haha. I always save money. It’s a borderline disease or a talent. My “problem” is that I want an extended amount of time off from working sooner or later and employers typically don’t give you that option. I’ve never really had to worry about the possibility of being homeless though. If it was a possibility then I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have taken so much time off or travelled the way I did but if that was a potential reality then I would have probably sold drugs at that time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

