Post-employment so Far

At my previous job, I drove a company vehicle all day delivering and picking up packages to help keep the wheels of the economy rolling. I didn’t realize it then but it made me dislike driving. Now that I am no longer driving all day, I actually enjoy driving even though I drive a boring ass Toyota Camry fit for a low testosterone geezer.

Just like bad health, wrinkles and hearing loss, you don’t realize what is happening until you get the chance to compare your situation to a completely different one. The degradation advances so slowly that the metamorphosis goes unnoticed.

Doing something on a regular basis that I didn’t really want to do slowly wore me down to a depressed state. I think I knew I was depressed but it happened so slowly that I couldn’t pinpoint the causes. When you’re stuck in a way of life for so long you lose all grasp on what makes sense for yourself. Our ability to adapt is to benefit survival not happiness.

Now that I have no income, I think about all the things that I wished I had purchased when I had a steady paycheque. Then I think about why I didn’t. I hated the thought of making unnecessary purchases because at the time I felt the misery I went through to earn that money was not worth whatever enjoyment the purchase was going to bring. To me, buying those items would feel like I was trading my life for them. It just didn’t seem like a good deal.

The little things in life are now enjoyable, for now anyway. I’ve read before that depression is like a stubbron looming black cloud that won’t filter through the slightest bit of sunshine. I can see that now but sometimes all you have to do is take yourself to a place where it doesn’t rain so often.

My final thought on post-employment thus far…if someone is going to miss a toothbrushing session, typically it will be the one before bed. When you are unemployed there’s a good chance you will miss the morning one because you don’t always have to be somewhere or see anyone.

12 comments on “Post-employment so Far

  1. Mr.Johnson's Cousin says:

    So very true about the tooth brushing.

    Like

  2. Marta Frant says:

    “for a low testosterone geezer” haha, in Russia, Toyota Camry is one of the most prestigious cars. Everything’s relative.

    Like

  3. Jenna says:

    As someone that was unemployed for the better part of a year (twice), my only advice is try to enjoy yourself and really take the time to figure out what would make you happy. Don’t go chasing the paycheck. You’ll end up like me 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • MrJohnson says:

      Unemployment and I are no strangers to each other. I used to quit my jobs hoping I would find a better one and ultimately the one that I would want to do for the rest of my non-wrinkly life. I know now what I thought I always wanted isn’t what I really want. But what you mentioned is good advice for the youth or anyone really. Those kids wouldn’t listen anyway. And I sound like an old guy now.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

