Torturous Recreation

Almost anything could seem like a good idea if you haven’t done it before. I like to get out of the house everyday and today I felt that lugging a 5 gallon water bottle full of water uphill from the supermarket to my home would be a fulfilling activity.

20151103_163958_resized

With my calculations, this water bottle is close to the equivalent of 5, 1 gallon milk jugs which weigh 10 pounds each. I remember this because when I was a kid I weighed a jug of milk on the scale at home. This would be my version of a trek to an African water well to bring back water for the kids except that I’m not carrying it on my head, not walking as far and do not have to worry about hyenas.

I was curious if I could do it or how it would be like. Every block or two, I took a 1-2 minute rest as expected. My goal was to eventually make it back home. I carried the jug in every way except on my head. You get creative and find little ways to alleviate the strain by shifting the weight of the jug by just a little.

On the way, some middle-aged Asian guy laughed at me, as expected but he gave me a thumbs up. I’ve never seen another idiot in my life walking around carrying a 5 gallon water jug.

It actually wasn’t that difficult but it would make sense since there are people out there who deliver these jugs all day for a job. Before I started walking 5-10 km, the idea of having to park my car 2 blocks away from my destination was considered a failure. I was thinking if I could lug this water bottle for just over a mile uphill it would make other tasks that seemed dreadful before, easy.

Before the popular Japanese hot dog eating champion came around, the winners from the previous 30 years were winning with 10 to 25 hot dogs. The first time Takeru Kobayashi entered the contest he downed 50. On a podcast he spoke about how people don’t improve because they set mental limits for themselves.

To be honest, I carried that water jug for something to do and not for the intention of bettering myself besides the exercise. But if it leads to a better version of myself then I’ll happily take that side effect.

 

Daily Prompt: Water

 

 

 

7 comments on “Torturous Recreation

  1. Jenna says:

    Ha, I know that podcast! Freakonomics, right? I listen to that religiously. And good for you – exercise gives you endorphins and I bet it was a great workout 🙂

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Nope, it wasn’t Freakonomics. Okay fine, it was..haha. The book that came out several years ago had some interesting reports. If you remember any really good Freakonomics podcast episodes feel free to let me know. I used to drive for a job and would listen to podcasts all day. That’s my version of university lectures.

      Ya, I think it was a decent workout. I felt really good after. My Trapezius muscles are sore today.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jenna says:

        Oh gosh, they’ve all been pretty good. I downloaded the whole history and am working my way through them all. I have 92 left! They did some great ones on obesity, quitting, group think… I listen at 2x speed though. If you have any recommendations on other podcasts, send them my way!

        Like

        • MrJohnson says:

          That’s interesting. I’ve never thought about listening at 2x speed. I’m probably too slow to keep up with that anyway. I listen to other podcasts but I don’t think most females are into them…lol. The other two I’ve listened to lots are from comedians..Joe Rogan and Bill Burr. There’s probably some Joe Rogan ones that you would like since he has some interesting guests from all walks of life. Bill Burr just talks shit by himself…lol

          Liked by 1 person

          • Jenna says:

            So 2x sounds fast at first, but now it sounds normal to me – normal speaking pace. I’m also from the Northeast, so that might have something to do with it. I listen to Tim Ferriss, who interviews pretty interesting people, even though he’s kind of an obnoxious prick sometimes.

            Like

            • MrJohnson says:

              Tim Ferriss puts out some interesting ideas. I can definitely see him being obnoxious sometimes. He’s seems like a super Type A type person so I guess it comes with the territory.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Jenna says:

              I usually tune him out and listen to what the interviewee has to say :). His ideas are good for those with lots of spare capital and time to research and try things, but he’s certainly not the everyman.

              Like

Leave a Reply

