Pleasuring Yourself

It’s sounds desirable to not have to work and be able to do nothing or anything at your convenience. That’s somewhat the goal in life for many…to retire. You rarely hear of anyone who dreads the years leading up to retirement.

“Ah shit, I’m going to be able to retire soon.”

“Oh man, I wish they would raise the age of retirement so that I could work some more.”

There are some that are happy to retire but end up worse off because they become bored. The purpose of retirement for most is to not have to work so that you can enjoy the rest of your life. Sounds like a great plan no matter what age.

When I was thinking about leaving my job, I knew from past experience that doing nothing was going to get old sooner or later. I also knew that engaging in activities for leisure would not suffice either. The idea of trying to pleasure yourself all day instead of being miserable at work can seem like a no-brainer but it can feel just as miserable.

Even if you do have a full time job, all you think about is how you are going to be able to pleasure yourself after work and on the weekend. You hope to somehow bury your misery with some kind of pleasure, and if unsuccessful you can add a layer of delusion.

In our culture, pleasuring yourself is the main objective whether you are employed or not. Have fun, enjoy yourself, relax. It’s all good except when it’s your main purpose in life. Trying to pleasure yourself to feel fulfilled is as attainable as trying to find happiness through substances.

 

Daily Prompt: Pleasure

7 comments on “Pleasuring Yourself

  1. cctyker says:

    At slightly more than 3/4 of a century old, pleasuring myself is all there is to do. I think of my activities as tasks more than pleasures. Personally, I rarely look at TV; it is one of the most mind deadening machines invented by mankind. I don’t even bother with the news; who give a rat’s rump? There’s nothing I plan to do to change the world, and I’m on the other side of longevity. So what if I get killed by some power monger? Death ain’t too far away anyway.

    But I like to live, and I like to do things, simple things, things that make me feel like I’m getting along fine. We have a gas furnace (we being my wife and I) as back up, but we heat with wood. So I cut and split wood. I garden. I read. We wander around town, talk to people sometimes. We take rides to odd places for the fun of it. I have a bee hive. Etc.

    Not bragg’n, just offering thoughts on life after youth.

    Liked by 1 person

    • MrJohnson says:

      Those sound like enjoyable activities and you sound like a genuinely content person. As much as you enjoy pleasuring yourself I think your core fulfillment comes from living a life you believed in, having your wife, and kids and grandchildren if you have any. It’s easier to find pleasure through activities when your main objectives are fulfilled or being fulfilled. I don’t really know you so it’s really just an assumption.

      To me, recreational activities are supplementary. They are like vitamins pills. They don’t do much all by themselves. Glad to hear you’re enjoying life after youth.

      Like

  2. Jenna says:

    Sometimes, work can be fun. I really like having lunch with my coworkers, and joking around, keeping each other sane during stupid projects that have to be revised for the umpteenth time. But really, when it comes down to it, we work so we can enjoy the other 16 hours of the day however we see fit, no?

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I find that discussing this topic is similar to discussing the purpose of life or religion…everyone has a different opinion because of the various factors. I guess there is 16 hours if you include sleeping. I suppose you can consider sleeping under a roof part of enjoyment πŸ™‚

      If you work and enjoy the rest of the time off then that’s mostly a win even if the person’s job is not so great. I think purpose comes first before pleasure on the hierarchy of needs and if purpose is not being fulfilled then pleasure is less possible. I see pleasure like a multi-vitamin…it’s a supplement but you cannot live on it alone.

      For many, I think when it comes down to it, working is just a means to an end. Whatever that end is, I’m not sure. The end goal seems to be to live as closely to your beliefs as possible whatever they may be.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jenna says:

        I don’t think anyone is happy all the time, every day. But if you are happy every day, that’s a win to me πŸ™‚ I work so I have the means to do what I like. Which, on this raining morning, would be to go back to bed πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

