Talking Shit on the Internet

20150816_164346_resized_2

I bought a microphone from some guy off Craigslist a while ago so I could talk some shit on the internet. I record myself and upload it on to youtube for everybody but mostly for nobody to hear. I got my first comment the other day.

“ur fucking stupid”

Youtube commenters are the bottom of the barrel on the internet. They are usually 15 year olds who think they are at their pinnacle of intelligence. They are not very nice either. I’m glad I could piss someone off. It’s not good art if it doesn’t make you feel something.

Although hardly anyone listens to my recordings, I enjoy making them. They can be called podcasts or shows but in essence it’s just me talking to myself. It’s the audio version of blogging. My recordings are somewhat similar to my blog posts except less censored, less depressing, less edited and probably more offensive. Sometimes I’ll just turn it on and start yapping and go wherever it takes me. It’s kind of awkward at first even though no one is in the room watching you. They say public speaking is one of the biggest fears people have and that kind of plays into it. In your head you think you’re on stage being judged.

Aside from entertaining myself, recording myself will serve as part of a good memoir for anyone who will care in the future. They’ll get to hear my intimate thoughts through my unadulterated 35 year old voice. If you have people you think that will care about you in the future, you may want to do your own recordings. If you think there will be no one who will give a shit about you then at least you might want to hear your younger self ramble.

If you are interested and have any questions with recording yourself, let me know.

14 comments on “Talking Shit on the Internet

  1. whereshappy says:

    Sounds like a great idea. I think that eventually I will do something similar. Are you able to attach your recording to your blog posts here in wordpress?

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I think you would have to upload your recorded material onto the internet first and then you can link it with your blog post using the ‘insert URL’ link on the ‘add media’ page.

      If you have a webcam then you can record using the youtube site.

      If not then you can do what I do which is use Audacity and then Windows Movie Maker to turn my audio recording into a video file and then upload on to youtube.

      There’s other sites you can record on like Soundcloud. It might even be easier and better if you have no interest being on youtube…lol. Ya, check out http://www.soundcloud.com

      Like

  2. BerLinda says:

    I hate the sound of my voice when it’s recorded! I’ll stick with writing but I think you’re brave 🙂 And ur fucking stupid – sigh. Wonder what did with the time they saved on typing the y, o, ‘, and e. 😉

    Like

  3. Way to go mate.. I think I would follow suit.. sounds great 😉

    Like

  4. I tried vlogging in the spring and hated it. But that could have had something to do with watching me be awkward on camera put my anxiety at an 11.

    Like

Leave a Reply

