Quitting your Job at 35

When I was searching for permission on the internet to quit my job there wasn’t much inspiration. There’s plenty of stories but they were from people who seemed to have back up plans or were trying to sell you some kind of dream. It appeared that quitting your 9-5 job for seemingly nothing was as popular as never moving out of your parents home.

I didn’t make a 6 digit income but $55,000 a year to deliver parcels was a decent gig especially for someone with no real employable skills. Most people in my position never leave but I guess I’m not like most people. The job I had was the ideal job that I thought I always wanted which proved to me that I need to live differently than your standard North American life because if I can’t be content doing this then this particular journey is over. The compensation for my work was good on paper but the catch was that you had to trade most of your life for it without any significant break in between.

If you are thinking about quitting a decent job you will over-think things unless if you lack the ability to think. I had been planning my escape for a while but I chickened out so many times because the primitive wiring kicks in when you get to the edge of the cliff. Of course, once I walk away from the danger I’m a tough guy again. The fear erases all the rational thoughts but it always came back to the same question. Can I accept staying at this job forever? My answer was no because I think I have the option and I don’t believe a person in my situation should be living life in this manner.

One of the most difficult obstacles to quitting my job was the fear of going through the process. Having to have that conversation with my manager and then the bombardment of questions from coworkers for 2 weeks was a little bit frightening to me. If there was just a quit button I could press at home I would have been done much sooner.

When people found out it was my last day there was some shock. People had me figured as a ‘lifer.’ Not everyone is going to be completely honest about their opinion once they know you have already made your decision. I’ll tell you what I think the four types of opinions were.

  1. “Good for you.” Some people understood and thought it was cool.
  2. “Hmmm…okay.” Not something they would recommend but they respect your decision.
  3. You are stupid.
  4. You are really fucking stupid.

One coworker that I hardly ever spoke with came up to me to ask me about it all.

No other job?

Nope. You like that, don’t you?

Yah. 

She walked away with a smile and looked impressed. I think I made her horny.

The thoughts went around my mind on how I could possibly find ways to be content with keeping my job but I realized it would just be a way of making it easier to do something that I don’t want to do like putting ketchup on dog shit before you eat it. I think I’ll hold off on the dog shit altogether until it becomes necessary. To continue doing a job that you don’t really want to do requires a belief that you have to.

I don’t have any grandiose plans of getting a better job. My goal is to find a way of living that is more suited for myself and I am willing to suffer for my beliefs. I don’t believe the route that provides the most financial and social comfort is the best option for everybody. I don’t want my life to be absolutely dictated by numbers and a set of unwritten rules propagated by people who don’t care about me or even know me. I wrote abundantly on my disgust towards the working stiff life and society in general. To have beliefs but to not follow them for the exchange of comfort and security is cowardly.

It’s only been a few days but it hasn’t really sunk in yet that I quit this job. I don’t know how it feels to be released from prison but I think the feeling of leaving the company property for the last time after 7 years is similar.

So what am I going to do then? Take it easy for a bit. I plan to spend a lot of my time volunteering. Maybe get a dog. Work part-time or the odd job. Travelling is an option as well so if any of you want to provide some hospitality, let me know. But I guess a big part of the plan is, we’ll see what happens.

27 comments on “Quitting your Job at 35

  1. Hey there is nothing wrong with never moving out of your parents’ place. Okay, I couldn’t even type that without laughing and blushing… as I live with my rents.

    Like

  2. cctyker says:

    All that quitting a job requires is self-confidence. Or should I say, “confidence in yourself.” Good luck and write on!

    Like

  3. I love this brah..
    Still smiling??

    Like

  4. amy says:

    I quit my full time job 3 weeks ago. It was making my life a misery. My plan is to get a part time job 20hrs a week and live on that. I will be poor but it will give me the time to live.

    Like

  5. Mr.Johnsons' Favorite Cousin says:

    The wise Homer Jay Simpson once said to his kids, “You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson here is never try.” (Unless it’s really easy)

    Like

  6. Done the same myself back in July. Not an easy thing to do after becoming almost institutionalised where I worked .Similar situation, 35, more than 11 years in the job and earning around 50k per year but miserable as fuck. The thought of doing it for another 30 years depressed me. Went traveling 3 weeks after I left and have been backpacking around Japan for nearly 2 months now and loving it. I know I’ll never earn that kind of money again but I’ve come to terms with that. I have no debt and own my own house so I’ll get by fine even if I get part time work when I get home. Just enjoying life without work at the moment.

    Best of luck and keep up the great writing.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Yeah, that is a similar situation. There definitely would be significant misery for as long as I stayed at my job. Some people would say that’s life but I’d like to believe that it doesn’t have to be that way. I love Japan and I’ve only been to Tokyo for 10 days. Backpacking Japan sounds amazing. Good to hear that your situation back at home sounds manageable.

      Thanks for sharing your personal story. I might need the luck so thanks for that too.

      Like

  7. Good for you for staying true to yourself and getting out of a ‘routine’ that didn’t suit you. Get the dog.

    Like

  8. I totally agree.

    I also think that you made her horny.

    Like

  9. Wanda says:

    That’s awesome! I’m happy for you, and interested to see how your new life changes will influence your writing. 🙂

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I’m interested to see what happens with my writing too…I didn’t think anyone else would be though..lol.

      I’m excited with this change..I think more than I have ever been in the past. Thanks for the support!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. […] of the hardest aspects of quitting your job for no other source of income is having to give up a lifestyle. I’m not saying a glamorous […]

    Like

  11. […] a person who just quit their job, I might come off as biased for believing the statistic but I honestly see it as being mostly […]

    Like

  12. Well done! I did miss this one. WP has an option where you can have a little ‘Follow via Email’ box on the side, which means that people who sign up will get an email every time you post rather than it just landing in the reader which can get overwhelming at times.

    Like

  13. When I wrote in my reply to you a while ago that you deserve a better job, I meant the kind of work that would give you pleasure than misery regardless of the pay.

    But you know, life is indeed short. Do whatever you need to do to make it worth living — with or without a job.
    Best wishes, Mr Johnson.

    Like

  14. marliesvonn says:

    What a great post. I refuse to be miserable at my job. I, unfortunately, discovered this very early in life, so have had many jobs and have quit many jobs. But, I do have quite the interesting skillset and some questionable “hard-to-explain” gaps in my resume, with a sprinkling of poor life choices. And it’s landed me here, writing, finally having really found my voice. Yes, I can sing really well, but that wasn’t the voice I was supposed to share. It was this. When singing became miserable, cutthroat, competitive, and bitchy, I said “enough!” I dunno, I’ve had a lot of shit thrown my way since I’ve started writing and I’m able to brush it off because this is who I really am. Love me or hate me, this is me. And if you don’t like swearing or Jenna Marbles, point your mouse somewhere else.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      There’s this idea out there that there’s a job out there suited for everyone. Maybe, I don’t know, but I think most of the time there’s a job out there that’s just not as bad as the other ones. The gaps are only hard to explain if you’re not willing to lie. Life wouldn’t be life without poor life choices..lol. Good to hear writing is motivating you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

