When Life Hands you Lemonade

Six hours into my shift, I’m doing my deliveries in a residential area when I drive by a lemonade stand operated by 3 Asian munchkin girls. As they see me drive by they’re screaming out, “lemonade, lemonade.” I pulled over and got out to support their cause. I hate lemonade. They tell you to make lemonade when life hands you lemons but if life didn’t hand you lemons then you can make something else.

Do you know where I can get some lemonade?

Right here!

Okay great. I’ll have a cup please.

One girl excitedly runs into the house to tell the grown-ups that they “made their first sale!” The other girl excitedly but professionally dispensed my lemonade. I’ve never seen anyone dispense a drink with so much determination and passion. They had this nice lemonade dispenser and even a cash box with an arsenal of change. The whole setup was quite impressive and so cute.

My plan was to drive around the corner and pour it out because I really didn’t want any more sugar in my body. Just 20 minutes prior I had a Dairy Queen Oreo Blizzard(ice cream type treat)I imagined their little faces if they saw me pour out the lemonade and I just couldn’t do it. There was also no lid so I had to drive around holding it in one hand. I just drank it slowly.

That was the best 30 cents I’ve ever spent.

20150716_145225_resized

10 comments on “When Life Hands you Lemonade

  1. Seems you carry too much love around with you..

    Little acts of love and concern, attract huge love in return..

    Love your show of concern. 🙂

    Like

  2. cctyker says:

    I’m the code cops did not find those kids. They must be in a good neighborhood; no body ratted on them.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      It’s an okay neighborhood…average at best. I don’t get the impression of a high likelihood that someone would take offense. I find that the ‘good’ neighborhoods are the ones that will rat you out because of their higher standards.

      Like

  3. Wanda says:

    That’s awesome. 🙂

    Like

  4. There was a lemonade stand in my neighborhood just a few weeks ago. I remember hearing it on the news and the reason it was on the news was because some thug stole the two girls cash box and ran off. I believe they did eventually get catch the guy. Your story is a lot better and puts my hope back into humanity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

