6am is for Sad Saps

Daily Prompt: The Golden Hour

6:00AM: the best hour of the day, or too close to your 3:00AM bedtime?

To be awake at 6am means you either have a job that starts at 7am (8am if you’re a woman) or you are an old geezer. In my 20’s I would stay out until the AM hours knowing that I would have to suffer the next day at work. It’s amazing what spirit and being an unaware person can allow you to do.

I’d rough it out every time with 3-4 hours of sleep thinking that it was justified because I was supposed to stay out late. Sleep is for the weak and you can do it when you’re dead, they say. Well, I was weak and I felt like I was walking dead.

We all have priorities in life and when you are in your 20’s those priorities may revolve around some ideology that doesn’t make much sense. It’s all about experiences and you’re only young once. I don’t know, I think I would have benefited more from a good 8 hours of sleep. I think properly regulating your hormones is more important than being an idiot.

6am is fine during the summer season but during the winter it’s the darkest and coldest time of the day. You have no choice but to be miserable. I love scraping the ice off my windshield. There’s no smiles at 6am on a winter day. All you see is a few other sad saps illuminated by a street lamp contemplating killing their family so they no longer have to put up with this shit for another 30 years.

On my days off, if I’m up at 6am and can’t get back to sleep, my first thought is if I should smoke some weed to knock myself back out. It would be more of an occurrence if I could stink up the house but to put on some clothes and stand outside for a few minutes can be too much to ask sometimes.

To have to be up at 6am means you are insanely motivated or you have no options in life but to wake up at an ungodly hour. 6am is when all the cocaine addicts turn in, the hookers clock out and sad saps scraping ice off their windshield. 6am is for the devil.

3 comments on “6am is for Sad Saps

  1. samlobos says:

    I agree. It’s an ungodly hour.

    Like

Leave a Reply

