Resisting Early Alcohol Consumption

The world might be your oyster but some days I would rather drink it away.  Drinking alcohol is so common that in our society we can just refer to it as ‘drinking.’  No one thinks you would be referring to apple juice or tea.  As a kid, I was so confused when they said you were not allowed to drink and drive.  I was like holy shit, I see people drinking coffee and driving all the time.  

Hitting the bottle before a school day would even end, signifies that you are giving up on the day which might be considered okay if you have your life in order.  If your life is not where you want it to be then drinking the day away looks like an act of self-pity and another step closer to solidifying eternal loserism.

Instead of drinking, I could spend all day stuffing my face with unhealthy foods but to me that’s gross. To others, I’m gross for drinking before the evening hours so I guess it comes down to what your beliefs are.  Some people think they are going to heaven.

There’s plenty of more positive options available such as working out, walking, reading, cleaning or anything without alcohol but putting stuff in your mouth is so much easier.  I don’t drink at every available opportunity but some days there’s nothing else I’d rather do.  There’s people at work who have enough money to not work but they work because it helps them stay away from the bottle.

So today is done.  I’ll be hanging out in my underwear and in this cool shirt one of my customers gave me, binge watching Daredevil on Netflix, drinking this $20 bottle of wine and eating meatballs made from only natural ingredients.  I’m going to revel in this lifestyle today because one day I may have to drink mouth wash and eat Chef Boyardee.

20150502_150307_resized

I think those are supposed to be salmon eggs on the robot’s head

8 comments on “Resisting Early Alcohol Consumption

  1. B. J. Hollywood says:

    Hey, man. Drinking is only a problem, if it’s a problem. Only Americans automatically think it’s a problem. No one else in the world really cares. Damn Puritans.

    Like

    • cctyker says:

      Ya, when the Army put me in Germany in 1962, Drinking was common in many places. Even in the public latrines – oops, restrooms – people drank and peed at the same time. It was mot against the law. The problem of the drunk wobbling along the sidewalk was not a problem either. I never saw one, except me in a shop window.

      Liked by 1 person

    • MrJohnson says:

      Well said. As long as it’s not getting in the way of being a functioning human being then it’s not so bad.

      Liked by 1 person

      • B. J. Hollywood says:

        Exactly. Alcohol is actually highly medicinal, when not abused. It takes the edge off – the stress of the day, calms the nerves after a shock, drives away a chill in winter, helps in the prevention of heart disease and high blood pressure. The list goes on and on. Don’t buy into puritanical ideas. Enjoy your life and have one or two drinks a day, every day. You’ll live longer. Cheers, B. J.

        Like

  2. kalyrical says:

    Hey Chef Boyardee is delicous. But please don’t tell me what’s actually in it ssshhhh

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I used to eat it all the time as a kid but I don’t think I would like Chef Boyardee anymore 😦

      Chef Boyardee Beef Ravioli

      Tomatoes (Tomato Puree, Water),
      Water,
      Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate [Vitamin B1], Riboflavin [Vitamin B2] And Folic Acid),
      Beef,
      Crackermeal (Bleached Wheat Flour, Niacin, Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid),
      High Fructose Corn Syrup,
      Soybean Oil,
      Salt,
      Textured Vegetable Protein (Soy Flour, Soy Protein Concentrate, Caramel Color),
      Carrots,
      Onions,
      Modified Corn Starch,
      Caramel Coloring,
      Citric Acid,
      Enzyme Modified Cheese (Cheddar Cheese [Pasteurized Milk, Cultures, Salt, Enzymes],Cream, Water, Salt, Sodium Phosphate, Xanthan Gum,Carotenal [Color]),
      Flavorings.

      Like

Leave a Reply

