Being Nice and Random Thoughts

People generally like to be nice.  The only problem is the niceness only comes out if a person feels that they are not losing or gaining much. The nicest people are the ones who are satisfied with where they are and what they have in life.  You might be thinking that you aren’t close to satisfaction with your life but you are a nice person.  Perhaps you would be an even nicer person if you were more satisfied.  Or maybe you’re not actually nice.  So I think in order for more people to be nicer they have to have what they want or want less.

I have the day off, it’s 1:52 PM,  sky is blue, sun is shining, and I will likely be hitting the red wine soon.  When it’s unseasonably warm in mid-January, you’re supposed to feel bad for not capitalizing on it.  I did feel bad and then I thought, does it really matter?

I think everyone wants to work, have a partner in life, watch TV, but I don’t think anyone wants to be devoting all their possible availability to them.  It’s true that no one devotes all their time to their job, partner, family, but often they do devote every minute that those entities can possibly take from them whether by law or availability.  The only reason full time employment is no more than 35-40 hours a week is because that’s the law.  Unless of course you are on salary which then means they will have you just before you burnout.  That’s the whole point of putting someone on a salary rather than an hourly wage.

Every one of us is a resource and just like any resource, people try to consume as much of it as they can.  In order to make your life better, the idea is to get someone else to take your misery and to give you pleasure.  If they can suck the life out of you often times they will.

More than anything, people want balance but many times our options are either all or nothing.  Committed monogamous relationship or loneliness.  Full time work or not enough money.

I bought a new hooded sweatshirt today.  It was on sale of course because only retarded people pay regular price.  Regular $60 on sale for $30 but when I went up to pay it came up to $23.  There’s nothing special about the shirt.  The fabric is kind of better than average but the sale price is what I’m all about.  Or maybe I’m secretly shamefully into logos.  Maybe the cool kids will let me hang out with them now.

20150113_142719_resized

 

20150108_093228_resized

The pig sign says “eat fish”…The fish sign says, well I think you can guess

 

 

20141225_115407_resized

Here is some equality

 

Well, have a nice day/night.

 

29 comments on “Being Nice and Random Thoughts

  1. “More than anything, people want balance but many times our options are either all or nothing. Committed monogamous relationship or loneliness. Full time work or not enough money.”

    Sad but true. This makes things really bad especially the relationship part. I don’t think I’m totally a monogamous person but I have to stay and act like I am or I will be left alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • MrJohnson says:

      I think relationships will be much different in the future. People have been slowly gravitating to doing what they want instead of obeying tradition. Being around the same person all the time is tough work. People should at least be given the option by their partner to sleep in a different room when they want. I would just fake having different contagious diseases once in a while. “I feel a little black plague coming on..cough cough.”

      Like

      • “I would just fake having different contagious diseases once in a while. “I feel a little black plague coming on..cough cough.” ”

        Same here! It’s downright boring and bleak to having the stick to the same old person always. Sometimes I just pretend to be extremely busy or tired or whatever from work so I can stay happily with myself for a while without having to make those phone calls.

        And for “People should at least be given the option by their partner to sleep in a different room when they want”, well, if one day I should live with my current partner, I would definitely sleep in a different room because, ahem, he SNORES.

        Like

  2. did you find your hat in that port-o-potty? oh snap.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    “The nicest people are the ones who are satisfied with where they are and what they have in life.” Very well said! -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please visit their post!

    Like

  4. ddmoonsong says:

    Hi I have nominated you for the ‘Very Inspiring Blogger Award’! 😀
    Take a look – https://ddmoonsong.wordpress.com/2015/01/14/nominated-for-the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    Like

  5. Yes, it’s easier to be nice to others when you feel good about yourself and the whole world in general. And when someone is being nice, how can I not afford to be nicer as the deed generates a pleasant feeling. It simply follows. I’ll take nice any day over its opposite.

    The sweatshirt and its price are nice indeed, MrJohnson.

    Like

  6. ME says:

    I am an aspiring writer. As my attempt to better myself I created a blog (where I committed myself in to writing a novel and 30 poems within the next 30 days). Please pop-by. Please do critic my work as much as you can. I Am a Pregnant Man @ http://www.iampregnantman.wordpress.com

    Like

  7. adamjasonp says:

    Oh, man, pink porta-potty for equality.  The pig sign actually says “EAT SUSHI.”  Just saying.  And just saying that sushi actually means “rice dish” not fish.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Oh crap. I just went off memory because I couldn’t read what the signs said. 11 inch screen I’m using here. I guess I could have clicked on the photo to enlarge it. Now I’m wondering if the pink means it’s for women only.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. lewar1 says:

    Want less and be nicer is a good plan in my opinion, maybe if we start looking at life from a more conscious and realistic point of view then the weight we put on our wants will change, thereby improving our mental state allowing our prioritize to shift and consequently our tendency to be nice

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      We would definitely be a nicer species if we operated on a more conscious level rather than using our primitive instincts. I think some people want to be nicer than they already are but are not because they think nobody else will be. Kind of like not wanting to drive to save the environment except not a lot of people are going to join you. You just feel like a chump for nothing while everyone else is benefiting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • lewar1 says:

        I totally agree, those of us who find it important to be nice, should do our level best to be and teach our children, the world really can’t do without nice people. What we can, where we can with what we have, as they say a little bit goes along way. Really enjoy your article, keep writing

        Liked by 1 person

  9. richbrunelle says:

    Mr. Johnson, The key is to work harder, expect less, and be damned happy with what you get. And, if you can live with that you’ve humbled yourself enough to be nice to everybody. At least that is what I try to convince myself of before I close my eyes at night. Oh, I just tell her to fake an orgasm and then I roll over and go to sleep . . . Works better than sleeping elsewhere.

    Like

  10. The Real DC says:

    I’m not a cool kid, but I would definitely hang out with you. Let’s be friends! LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

