Most Jobs Suck

There was a time long ago when men were real men.  They went to war, worked in the mine, built skyscrapers without safety equipment and sailed across the Indian Ocean before it was called the Indian Ocean looking for some place that might not have existed.  My nightmare job is any job that would require me to be a man.  There are still some manly jobs out there, all of which are still too manly for me.  Even with all the safe guards in the workplace, to me, it’s still torture to have to carry around stacks of wood all day under the blazing sun or frosty winter.  I look at those people and think to myself that I would rather knock off liquor stores for a living.  Maybe not rob liquor stores as it wouldn’t last but maybe something more cowardly like snatching purses from ladies of any age.  

I had one of these labour intensive jobs but only for a day.  It was 8 hours of shovelling a 50/50 steaming concoction of dirt and manure into a wheel barrel to be transferred 30 feet away.  He paid me $110 cash and also bought me dinner hoping that I would return another time.  Once you spend your developing years doing non-labourious work, I think it is impossible for most people to willingly transition into those types of jobs.

On the other side of the spectrum, I would consider sitting at a desk or standing behind one just as nightmarish assuming that I am doing it for 8 hours a day.  Having it be so deathly quiet and being able to hear computers humming and people making noises with their noses and throats drives me silently insane.  I would stare at the window closest to me and would imagine jumping through it.  I used to have one of these jobs and I definitely did stare at that window.  They wanted me to quit but instead I forced them to fire me.  I framed my termination letter.

So from labour intensive jobs to sitting in a cubicle, I’ve narrowed my job aspirations to nothing.  Wasn’t that the plan though? Computers, machines and robots were supposed to do all the work for us.  I wasn’t born lazy.  I was tricked into it.  

 

 

Postaday: Nightmare Job

13 comments on “Most Jobs Suck

  1. richbrunelle says:

    Reblogged this on WHY? and commented:
    I believe you speak for an entire generation of men that are not yet men, but sooner or later will need to be. Hope you do not mind the reblog. Thanks

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I don’t mind at all if you reblog. It’s usually flattering. There’s definitely less manly men in my generation. Whether or not they will need to become more manly in the future, I don’t know(not sure what your definition of being a man is in this case). The present world seems to favour geeks/nerds and men who let their wives abuse them..haha. Can you elaborate on your statement when you say sooner or later men will need to be more like men?

      Like

      • richbrunelle says:

        Sooner or later they will likely find themselves in a position of which they have to “man-up” and do what they have to do to feed their family. Only the few with that silver spoon are guaranteed a future, the rest of us take what it gives us and deal with it.

        Like

        • MrJohnson says:

          I guess they would have to ‘man-up’ if they have a family to support. If that is what a man is though then many women are just as manly(sometimes more manly) because the single income family is not so common anymore.

          Like

          • richbrunelle says:

            Let me tell you friend, there is nobody stronger than a single parent woman. They have balls bigger than any man and a determination unmatched but by another single mother. I have known many such women and when the time came for them to man up and do the job, most did so without breaking a sweat.

            Like

  2. “If someone’s nature is to repose, let them repose.” — Friedrich Nietzsche

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I’m not sure if that is supposed to be the enlightening truth or if it’s just loser talk. I will have to think about it and probably not come any closer to a conclusion.

      Like

      • The problem our world has is distribution of goods. The total quantity of goods produced is far in excess of what all eight billion of us on earth need or can use up. So there really is no harm in letting some people do nothing, if it really is their essential nature to do nothing, because even if only 25% of the world’s population could get a job they’d create enough wealth to support the rest of us.

        Like

        • MrJohnson says:

          I suppose it depends on your definition of harm. If you are not contributing in anyway then all you are doing is polluting and possibly taking away resources from someone else who wants to contribute to society or contribute in some other way. I’m not saying a person is bad for doing nothing. People being able to or wanting to do nothing is part of the society we live in. Maybe there is some way that the whole world can come together and provide for everyone without the majority having to do anything but it’s not likely to happen.

          Like

  3. Expat Eye says:

    How about being a gigolo? Lots of human interaction, a lot of horizontal time and you get to make people very happy… 😉

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Sounds good on paper, doesn’t it? It’s funny how most people don’t take up that kind of career until they hit rock bottom. People always have those stories of how they had sex with the ugliest person on earth for free but are still too ashamed to have the gigolo/hooker/Irish Whore label.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. voodoodarling says:

    How did you force them to fire you? That sounds like an interesting story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

