BBQ Chicken and Life

I meet up with 2 other guys in the morning to pick up and pass off freight.  We started talking about cooking for whatever reason and it made me think about grilling chicken.

After work I picked up 3 legs and threw them on my portable BBQ that I bought last summer.  I had this idea in the summer to bring this BBQ to the park to make my loner sessions more entertaining.  The first time was the last time I used the BBQ at the park because it was so much work to watch the grill, get away from the smoke blowing in my face and to lug the BBQ back and forth.

20140604_190107_resized

This is my first time grilling chicken legs.  I didn’t have to watch the flames as much as I thought I would have to.  There are flare ups but they aren’t steady so the chicken doesn’t catch on fire.  I felt like a street food vendor in an undeveloped country.

I added nothing to the chicken except salt afterwards but it still tasted great.  It had that smokey flavour.  The whole process was a little time consuming compared to just getting take out but it was all good.  I just sat there drinking wine and when I ran out of wine I started drinking beer.  By the time the chicken was done I was pretty buzzed.  Perhaps next time I will try and flavour the chicken with some kind of lemon herb sauce.

The conversation with my coworkers went to the topic of women who don’t cook.  They were telling stories about how guys they knew would not marry their girlfriend cause the woman didn’t know how or didn’t want to cook.  From what I’ve witnessed, many women these days aren’t too great in the kitchen.  In the past few decades, they’ve transitioned from homemakers to working women.  Married couples have a choice now of eating take out or a shitty home cooked meal.

One of the coworkers is Chinese Born Canadian like myself.  He bought an apartment and moved out from home a year ago when he was 28.  By Canadian standards that’s considered late.  His parents were annoying him he said and he felt it was time to ‘grow up.’  He might have succumbed to peer pressure too.  But to be honest, if you want to get married and have kids, the best decision is to just buy property if you can to show that you have honest potential.  It’s like setting a trap/incentive for a woman.

The other coworker is from Los Angeles and the one thing we have in common is that we were both raised by a single mother.  I give my mother too much credit.  She didn’t really raise me cause I only saw her 2 hours a week.  I’ve never met a person raised by a single mother that became very successful in life unless if the mother had above average money.  Like Chris Rock said, “You don’t need no man to help you raise no child” … shut the fuck up with the bullshit! Yeah, you could do it without a man, but that don’t mean it’s to be done! Shit, you can drive a car with your feet if you want to, that don’t make it a good fucking idea!”

Sometimes I want to buy an apartment but the commitment is too much for me.  If I really wanted a wife and kids though, I would because I would be convinced that is the way to do it.  When you know what you want in life it’s easy to make decisions.  Peace comes from having direction.  I’m an aimless wanderer.

I’ll leave you with another bit from Chris Rock.

“You know the world is going crazy when the best rapper is a white guy, the best golfer is a black guy, the tallest guy in the NBA is Chinese, the Swiss hold the America’s Cup, France is accusing the U.S. of arrogance, Germany doesn’t want to go to war, and the three most powerful men in America are named Bush, Dick, and Colon. Need I say more? “

 

5 comments on “BBQ Chicken and Life

  1. kalyrical says:

    Get that apartment and chicks will come flocking. BUT IS THAT THE KIND OF WOMEN YOU’D WANT? :’D

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Ya right, I wish it was that easy..haha.

      I don’t know how I would feel about it. In this stupid world having a place is almost a prerequisite.. at my age anyway. But ya, you can definitely argue that the whole idea is disingenuous. Who knows, maybe in a few years you will feel differently..haha

      Like

  2. voodoodarling says:

    Who are these losers who say they won’t marry their girlfriends because they can’t cook? Expecting women to do all this housewife-y stuff was OK 50 years ago when many women were still housewives. I work harder and work longer hours than any man I know, no fucking way I’m going to come home from work to be somebody’s cook/maid

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      When I come home from a hard day’s work, I expect dinner on the table and she better bring me my beer or she will see the back of my hand!

      Ya, a woman can’t be expected to do all the cooking if she is working as well. It would suck to eat out all the time though. I wouldn’t mind cooking most days but I doubt anyone would want to eat it.

      Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Life exists in a balance, and men and women have different roles. That’s just the reality which the west hates to accept, since it would mean the men would have more responsibility and there wouldn’t be as many women available to exploit. The house is supposed to be the domain of women and working life is supposed to be the domain of men. Of course, intermixing happens, but when people forget their primary responsibilities they always mess up the balance. I hate the idea of women with young children working full time. If you’re husband is also working, who the heck is raising your kids? It’s just so messed up. After work, you’re freaking tired. You’re energy has been wasted somewhere else, instead of your home.There’s nothing wrong with a woman who wants her house to be a place of peace and rest for her family. So-called feminists make it seem like a shame to want to be a housewife.

    It’s pretty sad that many women today are single mothers and have no choice but to work full time. This is dominant in the west. I don’t care how many legal rights they have, Western women are treated like robots. Impregnating them and leaving them alone, then expecting them to earn for themselves and raise the kid, and expecting them to be good at it. Basically treating them as both a work horse and an incubator. And some women are so brainwashed that they think this is a form of freedom and independence! What the heck!!! A guy used your body and then left you with a parasite, white he’s off screwing more women and taking no responsibility for anything. It’s nothing but absolute cruelty and a complete injustice against women.

    I’m not trying to sound like a creep who’s saying that women should be nothing but housekeepers. My point is that when you turn women into workhorses, it’s a sign of an imbalanced society and a society where the men are too pathetic to support their wives and children. I know there are women who are workaholics because their career/ambition-obsessed. That’s kind of a different story but I also believe that many of those women come from backgrounds that forced them to become that way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

