Positive Thinking/Desperation

Positive thinking: a way of thinking to motivate you to do something that involves at least some uncertainty or misery.  It can also be used when a less than desirable situation has come your way and you need to find a way to make yourself feel better.

If positive thinking was a publicly traded corporation, its stock would double every year.  We need it way more than we did in the past.  I realize that we’re not living in a real shitty era if you compare it to other times but it’s unique.  We live in an era where it’s easy to survive but difficult to find meaning and contentment.

If you are unsure about when your next meal is going to be you don’t dwell on any of your thoughts and misery.  There’s no time for negative, positive or any other kind of thinking.  There’s just living, dying or doing.

I believe there was a time when being jobless was not an issue.  You could quit and find a job the very next day without having any kind of skilled training and your dollar went far.  Why would you need positive thinking when there is not much to think about?

The job market now is much more competitive, you can save up your whole life and still never own a house, everything is more expensive, more people, more debt and it’s just getting worse.  The only thing that is improving is technology.

What do you do when you’re on the short end of the stick and feel hopeless?  You just hope that it will get better or you look for the silver lining. When it feels hopeless your only hope is positive thinking.  Positive thinking can almost be delusional but sometimes it’s your best option if you can buy into it.  It’s like when someone has a gun to your head and you have no way out that you get so desperate that you start praying to Jesus Christ even though you never have before.

Positive thinking is just like believing in a religion in that it really works if you really believe it.  It’s easy to want to believe in it but to do the things that show that you really do is another story.  When you have to adopt the positive thinking route you are betting on the underdog.  I suppose if you bet on the underdog enough, one day you will be victorious.

It’s difficult to follow through with positive thinking because the odds of winning, sometimes seem so small and involve a good amount of torture.   It’s easier to lay in bed, eat junk food, watch TV, drink booze, surf the internet(I’ve done all of these in the last 2 hours) and feel misery in small doses(that too) than to actively get out of your comfort zone and take the risk to feel a big pounding of disappointment and do it all over again the next day.

To be negative/realistic/cynical towards life can easily be looked upon as logical and truthful but to do so is also betting on a life of more unhappiness than there needs to be.  If I can’t find the strength to actively look for a better life, I hope that I can say ‘whatever’ to the life I have now and to whatever comes my way or just blindly hope that it gets better.

Dear Lord, I am praying to you tonight to bestow upon me the winnings of the national lottery so that I can refrain myself from positive thinking and the torture that comes along with it as well as releasing me from the dreadfulness of having to accept life as the way it is.

 

 

 

4 comments on “Positive Thinking/Desperation

  1. When there were jobs, it’s not that people still didn’t want more, or that they didn’t think as hard, or didn’t feel desperation. We just didn’t hear about every vile detail of everything single thing that happens in the world that makes people miserable and in need of positive thinking. And not as many people then, and not technology-addicted, so less competition with each other.

    No answers here. But that is the best prayer ever. I am going to say it to myself during the day so I can think about cynical it is and smile because it’s funny then probably cry because it’s true.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I always think life was easier and better a few decades ago but it’s very possible I would be just as unenthused with life as I am today. My grade 4 teacher made us say the Lord’s Prayer every morning. I don’t know how someone can feel right about doing that especially when the class was 80% Chinese kids. That prayer is outdated. No one worships bread anymore.

      Like

  2. byKrisB. says:

    HAHA! Loved it. I’ll say the prayer with you. Holding in my laughter so maybe the Lord will take me seriously. Because…seriously, I want to win the lottery.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      You can hold in your laughter all you want but unfortunately the Lord knows what you are thinking. I hope one day I get the opportunity to say grace and use this prayer at the dinner table.

      Like

Leave a Reply

