Facebook…An Online Resume

When Facebook started getting massively popular, everyone was like, “c’mon, you gotta join.”  My main question was, why is everyone making this to be so much better than all the others like Friendster or MySpace?  The best answer I got was that it was easier to find people on Facebook.  I guess but once you find them what do you do with them?  It might be just me but I never ended up reconnecting with anyone besides a couple messages of small talk?

That’s really all it is after a while.  It’s a resume, applying for the position of the admiration of other people.  Pictures of people on vacation, of their kids, with friends, here, there, that, nothing.  What is it really accomplishing?  It’s just a display to people giving the impression that they live a worthy life.  Okay, so that’s you standing in front of the Eiffel Tower letting me know that you’ve been to Paris.   You’ll also notice people only take pictures of food when it’s somewhat fancy.  You’ll never see pictures of a McDonald’s meal cause no one is going to be even a little envious.

Perhaps, I’m just being critical since blogging can be very similar.  You post stuff hoping people will read, like, comment.  I think the big difference is the intended use of the site.  I’ve never seen anything on anyone’s Facebook page that shows the deep or darker side of one’s life or anything that needed effort put into it.  No one on Facebook is displaying how poor they are or how genuinely shitty they feel everyday or any interesting ideas.  The most personal message you will see is a ‘status update’ that they had a bad day.  It’s just like a resume in that you only show your bright spots and leave out anything that might reflect poorly upon your image.

Wouldn’t it be a riot if I wrote my posts on Facebook on topics such as ‘having kids is selfish’ or ‘your friends really aren’t your friends’ or ‘does happiness exist?”  It would be considered rude and out of line but it would piss people off and that would be funny.  People would be telling me to get out of here with that crap then I could tell them to stop uploading photos of their girlfriend cause her face bugs me.  So I guess Facebook is suppose to be a place of happiness and envy.

In the end, any type of blogging or social media is for connecting with other people.  As superficial a connection Facebook may provide it’s still a connection.  One can tell themselves those connections mean something and truly believe it.  Facebook is like a life outside of life.  Possibly an escape where a person can show the good side of their face but never have to worry about revealing anything undesirable about themselves.  So I guess it could be rightly renamed, Fakebook.

 

30 comments on “Facebook…An Online Resume

  1. Expat Eye says:

    I never really thought about it – but you’re so right!

    Like

  2. Greetings from the professor! Do you think Face Book is safe?

    Like

  3. ntfcnicky says:

    I spend so much time aimlessly scrolling through my news feed on fb watching people moan about their lives or have huge arguments for the whole internet to read. It’s actually kinda depressing.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      People will always love attention and drama. Facebook provides a convenient platform for that. My reasons for logging on to Facebook are out of total boredom and desperation for the slightest stimulation. I think I used to go on Facebook just to see what other people were doing with their lives so I could make some kind of comparison. So not healthy. It was a good sign I was not intending to live the way I wanted to.

      Like

  4. Dear Mr. Wellington IV,

    I’d like to apply for the position of the admiration of others. I know my resume is unworthy because of my current position as a twisty anti-charmer but perhaps some gloom would be a nice change.

    I tried FB a couple years ago and only lasted a couple months until bipolar disorder set in. I became seriously unhinged seeing what now passes for personality, humor, or actual thought (there was none). Then some people from my past who I never wanted to see again found me and acted like we were buddies. That means they want you to watch their YouTube links or some article they’re so proud they found because that makes them real individuals. Then the dumbass games.

    Then I found myself looking for people I used to know and stalking them. I was so ashamed and disgusted with myself I closed it down and started the blog. Then shit happened and I went offline for a year (and only talked to you, you stimulating devil!) Now that I’m back I’m starting to feel the sickness again—I’m browsing around looking for substance and what I mostly see is bloggers obsessed with accumulating ‘followers’ (I hate that word). I just saw a blog with 30,000 followers! And thousands of ‘thank you for subscribing to my blog, I’m now following yours’ comments. So they must sit around all day artificially inflating their stats like it’s a competitive sport. It degrades blogging and I hate sports. And a lot of blogs are like FB in that they don’t reveal their dark side, if any, and that’s what I want to know.

    I really try to defend the western world ’cause it’s so much better in comparison. And there are some truly good, original, amusing, generous people here. But if they have a blog they don’t answer comments, and if they don’t have a blog they’re too busy for the likes of me. Wah wah wah I know I’m such a baby. But I’m so weary. I really need this job,.

    Very Truly Yours,
    Debutante Vandersnooth

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I can’t even completely remember how it feels to be active on Facebook anymore cause it’s been so long. I deleted everyone almost cause I was sick of knowing every little useless detail of everyone’s life and thoughts.

      I think everyone uses Facebook to creep on other people’s lives. I don’t know, it’s just so normal for humans to want to be nosy. Ya, it’s difficult to find blogs to connect with and yes, a good portion of people don’t respond to comments. That’s a good way to get people to stop commenting. Sometimes I think those ‘thank you for following my blog’ comments are fake. No one has ever thanked me for following and how can you not get the sense that someone is fake following you when there’s so many signs.

      Dear Debutante Vandersnooth,

      We have received your application for the position of Director of Admiration. Currently we are no longer accepting applications for this position. However, we will keep your application on file for 6 months or we might just shred it tonight. For future reference, if you wish to apply for this position, I would advise that you send in photographs of yourself having fun in an exotic location, holding a baby, at a wedding, etc. You know, living life.

      Sincerely,

      Mr. Wellington IV
      Senior Humanoid Resources

      Like

      • Sometimes if a blog has a lot of comments and the blogger doesn’t reply, it doesn’t stop the suckups from commenting on how awesome the post was. I don’t get the point of this, maybe they think their thoughtful comment will cause others to visit their site, or maybe people really are born followers. Since when did following become so important? I think we are being prepped for obedience to something awful. Your choice will be to follow or become a thug.

        Ha ha I’m going to start photobombing groups of happy tourists in my ‘exotic’ town but I won’t hold a baby.

        Like

      • tedgaming says:

        I felt the same (vaguely-)negative way about suckup commenters too. But then I just released a game on newgrounds on thursday and I’ve been getting a lot of suckup comments. I try to respond to every comment but there’s not much to say to the 20th guy that says “awesome game”. Still, I can’t say I don’t like the free praise though =P.

        I wonder what joy they get out of it though. Whenever I write a comment for someone, I hope to get some kind of response. Maybe they’re just normal people who don’t overthink things as much as I do lol.

        Like

  5. tedgaming says:

    You’ve got so many comments on this I feel like I don’t even need to comment here. Apparently, I don’t like joining crowds so much that I even try to avoid crowded comments.

    Anyway, you clearly haven’t been to my facebook page. I don’t post often, but pretty much all I post are deep dark depressing thoughts, and everyone ignores them, and then I feel even shittier, lol.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      This is not really a lot of comments. For me it is though. Does this crowded arena make you too shy to show your usual disgusting chinaman self?

      I just went to your Facebook page. It’s not as depressing as I thought it would be..lol. But definitely messed up enough that people probably think you live in a shed and eat fish heads all day.

      Like

      • tedgaming says:

        Man, you always call me chinaman. After the podcast episode I recorded with Andy, the one with the quacks, I was telling him that you always call me chinaman and I hope that you don’t mean it as an insult. I was speculating that maybe you use it as a term of endearment like the n word, lol.

        Anyway, it’s not that I’m afraid to show myself on facebook, I have, but people don’t seem to care so I might as well not depress everyone. I’m sincerely not being an attention whore. But yea… a while back, I made a status update about making retard noises in bed while being depressed and wondering if that makes me a retard.

        Like

    • Tedgaming, I don’t jump into high-comment blogs either, much prefer the less crowded ones. If I take the time to read someone’s post and put some thought into a comment it’s because I want to discuss, not kiss their butt. If Mr. Johnson goes all popular and arrogant on us, let’s dump him. PS I like your blog.

      Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      The truth is I have a reader of my blog who is African and he read your blog and was really upset of your liberal use of the N word. He asked me to call you the C word out of respect for him. This is a made up story.

      There’s no reasoning behind why I call you a Chinaman. You are the only opportunity I felt I justifiably had to direct something racial to so I exercised that option, thinking you wouldn’t think anything of it.

      Like

      • tedgaming says:

        Lol I totally fell for your african story.

        You gonna keep your racial muscles warm so that you’ll always be prepared to use ’em? lol. I KINDA don’t like it but I don’t really care. I’m not gonna try to censor you. I’m not a hypocrite. It’s context that’s important and your context is good. I’d MUCH rather have you call me a chinaman and have these comment chats than to be a lonely virgin blogging for nobody, lol.

        Like

  6. I love it – Fakebook! Of course I have an account on there and actually do use it to keep in touch with far away family and such. I do agree with you – it’s a big “keep up with the Jones” kind of place for some. Please, please start posting your statuses “having kids is selfish” and then blog about the responses. C’mon.

    Like

  7. jcbb says:

    A channel for showing off and complaining, for things that aren’t as acceptable when done outside of the channel. That’s it.

    Like

    • jcbb says:

      And I actually do share my blog posts on FB, and of course the “extremeness” of the topics are always received with silence. But whenever I post something brainless like “OMG LOL this sushi is amazing, at Rocket Sushi with so and so”, attached with a photo of sushi (which is really not shocking or interesting), the post receives tons of likes and comments.

      This is the type of experiment that takes little pieces of what hope I have left of humanity away.

      Like

      • tedgaming says:

        Yea I hate that about people too. Louis CK has a great joke about that in his last special. He makes fun of people who posts videos of their kids in plays on youtube and that nobody gives a shit about their shitty kids. They just like the video and say it’s cute without even watching it. He bets that if you edit the video and make the first frame the kid play and then the rest of the video is of your gaping asshole, people will still comment and say it’s cute cause they don’t watch it. The parents are trying so hard to film it and sticking cameras in front of their faces that they’re not even watching it, making their kids perform their stupid play for no one to watch.

        Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      That’s a pretty good definition of what Facebook is about. Never thought of it that way. Ya, you will never see people just pull out pictures of themselves on vacation and leave them for you to see..haha.

      So are you going to show us that picture of the amazing sushi or what?

      Like

Leave a Reply

