Emotions for Life

I was watching this documentary, A Place at the Table on Netflix last night about how 50 million Americans are hungry.  I thought it was a joke at first cause they were showing all these fat people saying how they had no food.  It brought back memories of when I watched the movie Fargo.  As the show went on, it explained how it wasn’t really a shortage of food but a shortage of real food.  They weren’t earning enough money and supermarkets were too far for them to access without spending all their time and money travelling.  This situation has led them to survive off food stamps that only afford them packaged foods like cookies, ramen noodles and canned food.  Fruits and vegetables are rare in their neighbourhoods because it’s not economically worth it for companies to transport such produce to their neck of the woods.  It’s just another sad case of economics and politics failing humanity when it doesn’t have to.

While watching this show, it made me value my situation.  I began to look at my employment more positively and ate a banana and orange right after the show.  It also made me realize that living life is all about the emotions that fuel it.  Emotions are the energy that put a life into motion.  Without emotions, life is stagnant.

In order to feel there is a purpose in life there needs to be fear, anger, love, desire or some emotion that emanates from natural human instinct or a belief in something even if it’s bordering on fantasy.   Not just a bit of emotion but an abundance of it.  Although watching this documentary brought about a bit of fear and appreciation, it’s likely momentary cause that’s not my situation.  The emotions are short-lived cause the show was less than 2 hours of my life.

Feeling comfortable is a feeling of nothing and a comfortable ride often becomes a ride that you want to get off of sooner or later, unless if you believe you have to stay on.  Maybe you’ll jump on to a better ride or maybe you’ll fall and hit your face full of asphalt but either way you’re going to feel something.

 

 

 

6 comments on “Emotions for Life

  1. jcbb says:

    I do tend to agree. Keeping alive and living life are two very very different things.

    Like

  2. And yet only 75 years ago there were no ‘grocery stores’ as we know them, and certainly no supermarkets. My parents lived through the Depression by having a garden, which became a lifelong habit. And no food stamps. They were skinny and strong. All areas of the US have a summer season. My grandmother planted apple trees and had a chicken coop, and my other grandmother made a still! How else did people survive before cities, populations, and availability of junk food exploded? How do the Amish survive, or people who live in the vast Canadian interior?

    Cookies and junk food are very expensive. Why not travel to buy supplies less often, buy big bags of flour, beans, etc., and learn to cook.

    I’ve been reading that more and more communities are joining together to raise vegetables in communal gardens. Even in Appalachia they have gardens.

    Maybe I’d scarf junk and balloon out if I lived in rural America, but I honestly don’t think so. I see the crap people here on food stamps fill their carts with (and they do have a choice), yet there is an enormous cultural pressure here to ‘help’ fat people on food stamps, because it’s not their fault.

    I know what you’re saying about strong emotion keeping you alive in a ‘living’ sense. I have my anger and fear, but also hope, due to my discomfort about where I live, getting old, and wanting something better, even if it takes forever.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I’d hate to think there would be a documentary made on a subject that wasn’t as serious as they made it out to be but who knows.

      My grandma always had a garden but it always seemed more of a small supplement than anything else. Maybe she did it for fun though. I don’t know if anyone living any sort of city life could grow enough food for it to be significant.

      Ya, we have those communal gardens popping up around here too. I’ve always wanted to grow stuff but I have no motivation. I steal other people’s crop instead. Just… kidding.

      I’m thinking these people in the documentary are really poor. So poor that they never have enough money at one time to do bigger grocery purchases. Their food stamp allowance seemed pretty meager. It also seemed to focus more on the people with kids and the lack of quality food for school lunches.

      Watching this documentary makes me resent the people who raised me cause my diet seemed pretty similar and we had access to fruits and vegetables. I had less junk food though. I just starved most of the time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

