Working for what?

Work.  The most common image this word creates is going to some place and getting paid money for your time and services.  The really shitty thing about jobs is that you don’t get much of a choice when it comes to when and how long you want to work for.  You’re put on a schedule and you have to take it or leave it.  You probably don’t get to start at 9am one day and 12pm the next.  Neither do you get to go home anytime you want or take days off whenever you feel like it.

The only time you’re suppose to work is when you want to or have to, otherwise it’s a drag and a few decades of being dragged is rug burn times 10000.  Anytime you work you’re suppose to be working towards something.  Something that’s worthy of your time and effort.  I guess what I’m trying to say is that some of us are working for nothing.  Feels like nothing anyway.  For money so I can buy shit I don’t need or stuff that brings me such little instant gratification?  It sucks the life out of you after a while especially when you don’t think it’s worth it.

One major reason why people work is to stay alive.  I guess that’s one big thing I’m missing.  I’m not getting a lot of kicks from being alive.  There’s no dream I’m trying to fulfill.  No kids to raise or mortgage to pay off and I’m not going to acquire responsibilities just for the sake of having a reason to be forced to work.  I don’t feel or see anything in my life that convinces me that working more than I need to is justified.  Employers are stiffs when it comes to flexibility of the work schedule.  I’d love to march in and ask for 3 days off instead of 2 or 6 hours work days instead of 8 but it will never happen.  I’d also like to take the whole winter off.  Actually, I have asked and I got shot down faster than something that gets shot down really fast.  They never let you have your cake and eat it too.

Outside of basic needs, I feel that any work  you do should be for a life of your own.  It seems everyone works to build a life that was created by someone else.  That’s how I feel but it’s not exactly how I’m living at the moment.  But I’m not too crazy about signing off for the blueprints of my life made by someone else for everybody else.  Maybe I did sign off to start the project but I can still stop construction.

Back in hunter gatherer days you wouldn’t hunt more than you can keep.  You wouldn’t build more shelter than you needed.  We live in a time where we can store endless amounts of numbers in bank accounts and spend as much as our credit allows us which also allows us justification to work until we drop.  It’s a bit of an acceptance game too.  When everyone in your life is devoted to making money and spending it, you just might feel left out if you don’t keep up.

I feel that I’m so alone with the idea that working full time is not desirable and not even necessary.  Then again I’m not chasing dreams that need to be held up by a foundation of money.  If I’m not getting the gratification from the fruits of my labour, I’m thinking maybe I shouldn’t pick so much fruit and lessen the misery.  Food tastes better when you have less of it.

 

 

5 comments on “Working for what?

  1. LOVE this! Know that you are not alone in these feelings!
    I do have dreams that I am chasing and my full-time job may provide the income for such dreams but doesn’t offer the time for dreams cause all my time is spent at work. Makes no sense to work so hard somewhere and never have the time to enjoy the money you make or be miserable the entire time! I think working totally sucks the life out of you – unless you can find that magic loophole that somehow allows you to do something you love for “work”, make tons of money in the process, and have all the time and freedom you want! 🙂

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      I’m pretty convinced I’m not alone with these feelings but having anyone verbally admit them is a rarity. You’re right it doesn’t make sense. Anything ‘normal’ never seems to. The enjoyment of spending the money made from working hardly ever matches the misery spent earning it.

      “do something you love for “work”, make tons of money in the process, and have all the time and freedom you want!”… I’ll settle for one of those magical loopholes.

      Like

  2. praepostere says:

    Well said. I thought the same thing for quite a while. But the thing is: My dad stopped paying for my studies. Because he is frustrated at me for not finishing them. But I really love studying. I really am a geek. I work, but its because I feel responsible for something. Also one of the reasons why I don’t want kids (I have quite a lot reasons). I would have to work harder. Which means punishing myself. Plus I already have everything my heart desires. I have a laptop and internet (everything I need is online:)). And when people (mostly guys want to go out with me), they always pay or pick me up. And I always get free things wherever I go. I guess because I’m beautiful:-P. Well actually I know:-P.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      There’s your reason for working..your dad cut you off. You’re lucky to love studying. It will make life a lot easier for you. Although being attractive to guys can make your life easier too. You have to be careful though cause when you’re good looking you attract all types of guys including the bad ones.

      Kids! They’ll take up the rest of your life and for what? Having kids is a pretty selfish act. 7 billion people on this Earth. I think the last thing we need is more people shitting and littering. Ya the internet is pretty awesome. You can write, talk, watch, read. It replaces humans, tv and radio.

      Guys will do that. They’ll go to the ends of the Earth to try to impress you if they think you’re beautiful. We’re monkeys. And you are potentially dangerous!

      Like

Leave a Reply

