I like Debbie Gibson..so?

I have all these ideas about life to write about but I’m too buzzed to write about them in a coherent manner so here is some 80’s pop culture for you.   Debbie Gibson was this massively famous pop music icon in the 80’s.  Tiffany ain’t got shit on Debbie Gibson.  Unlike the super famous female pop performers of modern times, Debbie Gibson was and is pretty damn talented.   She’s the youngest female to write, produce and preform a #1 single.  She still holds that title.  I haven’t read this anywhere but I think she inspired the character Blossom from the 90’s sitcom of the same name.  Nose and the hat?  Hahaha, there’s nothing gayer than a guy loving Debbie Gibson, except a guy who loves Cher.

 

6 comments on “I like Debbie Gibson..so?

  1. kalyrical says:

    Wow 80s pop music ❤ Not an 80s kid, but I've always loved pop songs from that period 😛

    Like

  2. MrJohnson says:

    Ya they’re the best karaoke songs..hahaha

    Like

  3. 😀 The best karaoke songs. Excuse me, Mr. Johnson… The music from the 70s and 80s is believed by many to be the best of all time. And not just because I was glued to the radio during my preteen years up to my 20s. Anyway, you’re fond of karaoke singing? 🙂
    I thought Debbie Gibson was corny. He he. And I hated her voice. But she was talented no doubt.

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      Haha…Songs from the 80’s made good karaoke songs because they were so sappy and emotional. I think I am a closet karaoke person. As much as I would like to belt out songs at home, hearing my voice emotionally amplified would make me feel awkward even if there was no one else around.

      I can’t think of any good karaoke songs from the 70’s. To be honest, I can’t think of any songs from the 70’s except the classic rock ones. Oh wait, The Carpenters! I lover their songs.

      I guess Debbie Gibson was corny. Teen idols often are, plus it was the 80’s..haha.

      Like

      • 😀 It’s true. Everything was corny in the 80s: Just start looking at the hair.

        Ah, Mr. Johnson, you should look up the songs from the 70s. Try familiarizing yourself with several of them. Even many young people of today express on You Tube how they wish they were born in the late 60s to enjoy the music from our generation. Synthesizers got used for the first time during the decade (1970s). I had a few posts about that in my hidden blog (which I’ll make public again in January).

        Ha ha! Be like the Filipinos when it comes to doing Karaoke: Shameless and thick-skinned. Seriously, I despise people here who turn up the volume regardless that they sing out of tune and especially when they’re already drunk.

        Oh I love many songs from the Carpenters.

        Like

        • MrJohnson says:

          I probably know the popular songs from the 70’s. I’m kind of a music lover of all genres. The weirdest thing about the 80’s was how men looked like women but for whatever reason it was accepted. Skinny, long hair, makeup and painted nails? What? Between that and Michael Jackson, it shows that in certain situations, women don’t care about a man’s looks.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

