The Chocolate Experiment

The Chocolate Experiment is a journey to a land not well travelled by most people.  It’s a new venture of mine to explore the experience of giving.  Throughout my whole life it’s been about self gain.  If I was looking for pleasure,  happiness, I would seek it in the way of self indulgence.  That method, for whatever reason is not as effective as it once was.

I’ve sort of been on a giving spree lately.  Stuff that has been sitting around my place that has no use to me really, has gone somewhere else.  Somewhere else where it would actually be used.  I donated most of my DVD collection to the local library.  I thought about doing that in the past but the thought there would be a small chance that I might need them stopped me.  Also the thought of giving away something I spent a few hundred dollars on, didn’t excite me.  But the fact remained that these DVDs were almost useless to me but for sure if I donated them, someone would get some joy out of it.  I borrow DVDs from the library all the time so I felt it was only fitting that I give back.  Contribute to the community I guess.

When I was 21 I bought this leather jacket for $400.  In my younger years I didn’t really know how to buy clothes very well.  The sleeves were a little long for me and the whole thing was a bit big for me in general.  It’s been over 10 years and that jacket has only seen probably 20 times of use.  I haven’t worn it since 2006 and something told me it wouldn’t come out of the closet much for the rest of my life.  I decided to give it to my oldest friend.  He’s always been pretty good to me.  He’s always been a little bit bigger and taller than I and he’s gotten more plump in his adult years so the jacket fits him better.  That’s a mild version of a fat joke.

This past week I’ve been giving chocolate bars away to people at work, customers and total strangers.  The local supermarket had a real good deal so I bought like 60 at $1 a piece (regular $2).  When giving them away the following are the most common reactions.

1)  “How much?”
2) “Don’t you want it?”
3) “Thanks! “4) “Where did you get these? Customer gave them to you?”

One coworker jokingly asked if he had to drop his pants for a chocolate bar.  I think the happiest person to receive a chocolate bar was the guy who was working at the medical marijuana store.  He was like, “this made my day, I should give you a gram for this.”

This is what I think I have learned from the Chocolate Experiment.  People don’t generally give anything to anyone who they don’t have much of a relationship with.  I think this cause people seemed so damn shocked to get a free chocolate bar.  It’s not like it was a gold brick or anything.
There’s almost no one that doesn’t like chocolate.  Out of the 40 people I offered chocolate bars to only 4 didn’t accept.  2 of them had blood sugar issues and the other 2 said they’re not big fans of chocolate.  It’s funny, the 2 people who had blood sugar issues were both skinny.
Giving away $40 worth of chocolate bars to 40 different people brings more satisfaction than a $40 dinner.  For the past few months I’ve been trying to compensate for the lack of satisfaction from work and life that I’ve been indulging in overpriced dinners.  I’ve never came home feeling much satisfaction from any of those dinners.  I sometimes felt stupid but countered that with “oh well.”

Doing something like this would have seemed very retarded a couple years ago.  The idea would have been, “why not spend that $40 on myself instead?”  I’m not saying don’t be good to yourself but I think giving a bit to someone other than yourself if you can is pretty magical.  I feel kind of weird using the world “magical.”  Oh well.

 

 

4 comments on “The Chocolate Experiment

  1. That’s sweet of you — giving away chocolate bars to people, even to those you hardly know. Ahem, if you’ve got one left, you can throw it over here, yes, in my side of the globe. 😀

    Like

    • MrJohnson says:

      That was a couple years ago when I was sort of in a Buddhist phase. The conclusion of the experiment is that people are cheap and they like chocolate.

      By the time the chocolate bar gets to your place it will be melted and have a $20 customs charge to go with it.

      Like

  2. Lol.
    And yeah, people don’t get any cheaper when it comes to receiving chocolates. He he.
    If you ever wander on the Buddhist path once more, don’t forget about me. 😀

    Another grammar booboo of mine: should have been “throw at my side of the globe.” My skill can be atrocious, yet I’m an English instructor.

    Your blog posts continue to fascinate me. My comments are coming soon as soon as I get comfortable with my cheap but portable tablet :-). Hope you won’t mind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

