Minimum Wage

The idea of life and working is that you’re suppose to “move up” as you get older.  If you don’t make the right moves you’ll be stuck making a shit wage your whole life.  I guess there is some truth to that.  It’s pretty much the equivalent to death in the animal world.  If you make a shitty wage you can’t do all the great things life has to offer and no one wants to reproduce with you.

It’s not really the shitty wage that makes your life suck.  It’s the fact that media, society and most people in society make you feel you that way.  Imagine if you were surrounded by people who earned shitty wages.  All your friends, family, coworkers and strangers made a shit wage and were ok with it.  You wouldn’t feel so bad.

It’s not like that though usually.  You’re usually either surrounded by people who make good money or people who don’t make good money and hate their lives.

There’s nothing wrong with making good coin though as long as you don’t have the shitty mentallity that usually comes along with it.  If you have to work, shouldn’t you try to make the most you can anyway?  I don’t know.   For me, lots of money would only make me content with my life  if I didn’t really have to work for it.  I hate the whole idea of having to wake up in the morning, put in my 8 hours and think about how I might have to be doing this for a very long time.  Seems like my life revolves around my work.  Maybe I’m just being a 1st world bitch?  I don’t know.

The more misery you have in your life the more you feel you have to compensate for that misery.

I had no intention to really write this post but I wanted to share this comedy sketch so I felt I had to add some words.

 

 

3 comments on “Minimum Wage

  1. lightpuma says:

    “If you make a shitty wage you can’t do all the great things life has to offer and no one wants to reproduce with you.”

    How very philosophical of you.

    Like

  2. lightpuma says:

    Part-time jobs can be so depressing. I mean, they’re fine for temporary periods, perhaps when you’re a student or over the summer, but God, I would never want to be stuck doing that all my life. I experienced the part-time job world for one year after grade 12, and then found enough motivation to go back to school.
    Some of the people I worked with made me feel so much pity, to be honest. There were people working the same job for 15 years who were still getting paid as much as those who had worked 2 months. Some elderly people worked so hard and they were so sick, but couldn’t retire b/c of lack of a plan or savings, or b/c their kids were unsupportive.

    Like

    • mindo240 says:

      That does sound shitty. I could actually get by on minimum wage and it wouldn’t be that bad. I don’t think I’d want to work for minimum wage unless if the job was so free of misery. But if you can make better money and not be miserable then that’s gold.

      Like

Leave a Reply

