Life is like stamp collecting…

…it stopped being fun a long time ago.  I cracked up laughing when I saw this spray painted on a wall recently.  I went back to take a picture but they painted over it already.  Ya, guess this post won’t be as good without that picture.

Whoever this contributing artist was, they must have really believed what they sprayed on that wall cause they were pretty big letters and it’s a semi busy street.

I don’t think life naturally evolves into no fun.  My belief is majority of people choose the path out of Funtown and take a sharp right into Seriousville.  Everyone could have stayed in Funtown but the brochures for Seriousville were too appealing and everyone else seems to end up there anyway. “Come on, you don’t want to be left in Funtown.”

About a month ago I went to go see the annual fireworks with a friend and his family.  On the way home he says, “remember when we were younger and all of us used to do this every year together.  It was so much fun.”  He made it sound like it wasn’t possible anymore.  I answered, “we still could and it would be just as fun.  It’s just that everyone has it in their minds that they’re too evolved to be doing things that seem juvenile.”  I think he quietly agreed.

Seriousville is so structured and expensive, it’s also very serious.  Once you get there it’s very hard to leave.  Seriousville becomes a mindset more than anything.  Perhaps some people have no choice but to go to Seriousville but I just don’t have it in me to voluntarily sign up.  It’s like a war, I’d have to be summoned or drafted by people who have power over me.

I find it difficult to take life that seriously when I know I’m going to die one day and once I do, no one will really give a crap about me for very long after.  Nothing that I achieved in life will matter at all once I’m dead.  It probably wouldn’t have mattered when I was alive.  Our primitive brains and egos make us believe we’re important and special but that’s just a survival mechanism.

We’re all 1 out of 7,000,000,000 so how special do you really think each of us are?   With the population increasing we’re getting less special everyday.  Our worth to the world is like $1 to Bill Gates.  Man, that sounds so wrong.  I don’t know, it’s kind of a cool comparison, isn’t it?   Well, you might be special if you’re a really good person but you’re probably not.

I don’t know.  I’d rather live in Funtown and go to Seriousville for a short trip than live in Seriousville and visit Funtown for vacation. Unfortunately, Funtown isn’t very fun when everyone leaves.

 

 

 

One comment on “Life is like stamp collecting…

Leave a Reply

