I have a cousin in a wheelchair

I’m not just telling you this just for kicks but sort of as a life lesson.  I don’t know if I would say lesson either so maybe just an insight.  My cousin who just turned 28 has been in a wheelchair since he was about 23.  He’s  paralyzed from the chest down.  I think many people think that just means he can’t walk.  I’m not going to get into detail but there’s a bunch of things this affects and it’s not much fun.

This is a blood cousin too not some 4th or 5th cousin who’s mom married her brother’s wife’s sister’s father.  We used to live together for a couple years and never really lost touch either.  I was an only child so the closest thing I had to brothers and sisters were cousins.

Things I’ve realized since his accident?  Humans can often take their current lives for granted no matter what.  I have a family member in a wheel chair for life and I still have negative thoughts about my small and often superficial issues in life.  Being in a wheel chair is not part of my reality so I just carry on with my life without thinking it could be so much worse and that there’s really nothing that bad with my life.  I guess that’s just how the primitive human psyche works.

The other thing I realized is that you wouldn’t kill yourself if you had to be confined to a wheel chair for the rest of your life.  After his accident I had so many people say that they would kill themselves if the samething happened to them.  I believe that they believe this but they only think this cause they haven’t had to go through the whole acceptance stage of it.

Presently my cousin is out living life like he used to pretty much.  He has hand controls installed in his car so he can drive and he’s no longer ashamed to be seen in public.  His personality and spirit seem to be what it was just like before.

It stills seems unbelievable to me that my cousin is in a wheelchair.  When I do think about it, I realize I have nothing to complain and be negative about but I still do and I feel shitty about it.  I guess it’s just my shitty ego.  Something to work on.

 

Leave a Reply

